They Both Die at the End (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
They Both Die at the End Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This was a refreshing, contemporary book with some lovely dystopian aspects. It is set over the course of one day, the actual day the book comes out: 9/5/17, in New York City! Not only does this story beautifully portray the imminent fear of death hanging over our heads, but also the prospects of friendship. Eighteen-year-old Mateo Torrez sits locked up I his house all day every day, with his intense social anxiety hanging over him like a cloud. His mom died when he was born & his father is in a coma, so he’s all alone when Death-Cast calls him up. Rufus Emeterio is a foster child who started off his “End Day” by making some bad decisions with his best friends. He didn’t know this till Death-Cast give him a call. Mateo & Rufus both end up alone due to their own issues on their End Day, so they decide to try the Last Friend app, where they meet, & they spend their End Day together. They talk about life & death & everything in between as they say their final good-byes. And feel one last time what it’s like to live. Oh, & don’t worry, even though the title spoils the ending, it’s still like a punch in the gut when it happens! This is a book I couldn’t put down!

 

 

— Gab V., Age 15

Description


Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure--to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound."

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062457790
ISBN-10: 0062457799
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English