Marabel and the Book of Fate (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Marabel and the Book of Fate Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

“The important thing is what I know in my heart. And what I know is that I’m capable of great things.” Join Marabel as she sets off to rescue her twin brother with her best friend, Ellie & a talking unicorn & ends up on a journey of self-discovery & growth. What a rollicking but poignant adventure for girls of all ages.

— Susan

Spring 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List

“Marabel's twin brother, Marco, is the Chosen One, prophesied by the Book of Fate to save the kingdom of Magikos. For Marabel, that means always being in Marco's shadow. But when an evil queen kidnaps Marco on their very important 13th birthday, Marabel knows that she has to rescue her brother. With help from her best friend and a talking unicorn, Marabel treks across kingdoms to find her brother, a journey that teaches her about friendship and fate, good and evil, and that sometimes a different perspective can help you save the day. For fans of humorous fairy tale classics like Ella Enchanted, and for anyone who is tired of waiting around for their day in the sun.”
— Melissa Oates, Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC


Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother--and their kingdom--in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons.

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants--and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

About the Author

Tracy Barrett is the author of numerous acclaimed and award-winning books for young readers. She lives in Nashville, Tennessee.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316433990
ISBN-10: 0316433993
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 6th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English