The Reader (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Reader Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Books are truly magical things, and in this book they hold a power all their own. Sefia has been on the run ever since her father was brutally murdered; all she is left with is this mysterious object that cost her father his life. She comes to realize that THIS IS A BOOK and, in a world where reading is unheard of, it means more than she can ever imagine. I was immediately drawn into this world and, not only Sefia’s story, but also the other stories weaved into the journey.  The Reader is the perfect High fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Rae Carson. Captivating!

— Kathy

Description


Instant New York Times Bestseller

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book--a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed--and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

About the Author


Traci Chee is an all-around word geek, she loves book arts and art books, poetry and paper crafts. She studied literature and creative writing at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and earned a master of arts degree from San Francisco State University. Traci grew up in a small town with more cows than people, and now feels most at home in the mountains, scaling switchbacks and happening upon hidden highland lakes. She lives in California with her fast-fast dog. The Reader is her YA debut.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399176777
ISBN-10: 0399176772
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 13th, 2016
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Sea of Ink and Gold