Utility Navigation

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Haints Stay (Paperback)

Haints Stay Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"In his astonishing portrait of American violence, Haints Stay, Colin Winnette makes use of the Western genre to stunning effect. But this isn't a chummy oater penned by the likes of Zane Grey or Louis L'Amour. Winnette's frontier feels more Homeric. His knack for tapping into scenes of primal fear and poetic violence serves as an indictment of our species' base nature and worst instincts. While the novel flouts most of the conventions of the traditional horse opera, the rewards of Haints Stay belong to the reader."
Jim Ruland, Los Angeles Times
"Striking and powerful... a Western as reimagined through the transgressive lens of Dennis Cooper. What Winnette does here is less about undermining the traditions of the Westerns and more about pushing them in unexpected directions."
Tobias Carroll, Electric Literature
"The most anticipated independent novel of the summer."
Flavorwire
"Winnette's already sharp prose is honed here to a razor edge. It rolls across the stark, lawless world he evokes like approaching thunder."
Midnight Breakfast


Brooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people.

The story follows the middling bounty hunters after they've been chased from town, and Bird, each in pursuit of their own sense of belonging and justice. It features gunfights, cannibalism, barroom piano, a transgender birth, a wagon train, a stampede, and the tenuous rise of the West's first one-armed gunslinger.

Haints Stay is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt's Meek's Cutoff, and Jim Jarmusch's Dead Man meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor.


Colin Winnette is the author of Revelation, Animal Collection, and Fondlywhich was listed among Salon's Best Books of 2013. He is an associate editor of PANK Magazine, and conducts a regular interview series for the Believer's "Logger." His writing has appeared on BuzzFeed, Electric Literature, and in the Believer.


About the Author


Colin Winnette is the author of Revelation (Mutable Sound), Animal Collection (Spork Press), and Fondly (Attics Books)listed among Salon.com s Best Books of 2013. His fourth book, Coyote, won Les Figues Press s NOS Book Contest and is forthcoming in 2014. His other prizes include the Sonora Review s 2012 Short Short Fiction Contest and Heavy Feather Review s Featured Chapbook Contest (for Follow Through). He was also a finalist for the 1913 Press First Book Award and Gulf Coast Magazine s Donald Barthelme Prize for Short Prose. "
Product Details
ISBN: 9781937512323
ISBN-10: 1937512320
Publisher: Two Dollar Radio
Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Pages: 212
Language: English