Jessica Keener, "Strangers in Budapest"

Strangers in Budapest Book Cover“You must not tell anyone . . .”

Budapest is a city of secrets, a place where everything is opaque and nothing is as it seems. It is to this enigmatic city that a young American couple, Annie and Will, move with their infant son, shortly after the fall of the Communist regime. Annie hopes to escape the ghosts from her past; Will wants to take his chance as an entrepreneur in Hungary’s newly developing economy.

But only a few months after moving there, they receive a secretive request from friends in the U.S. to check up on an elderly stranger who also has recently arrived in Budapest. When they realize that his sole purpose for coming there is to exact revenge on a man who he is convinced seduced and then murdered his daughter, Will insists they have nothing to do with him. Annie, however, unable to resist anyone she feels may need her help, soon finds herself enmeshed in the old man’s plan, caught up in a scheme that will end with death.

Atmospheric and secretive, much like the old Hungarian city itself, Strangers in Budapest is an intricately woven story of lives that intersect and pull apart, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You and Chris Pavone’s The Expats. Keener has written a transporting novel about a couple trying to make a new life in a foreign land, only to find themselves drawn into a cultural, and generational, vendetta.Jessica Keener Author Photo

Jessica Keener is the author of the national bestselling novel Night Swim and a collection of award-winning short stories, Women in Bed. Her work has appeared iO, The Oprah MagazineRedbook, the Boston GlobeAgni, and other publications, and she has taught English literature and writing at Brown University, Boston University, the University of Miami, and GrubStreet. She lives in the Boston area. Learn more at www.jessicakeener.com.

Please register here for this FREE event.

If you're unable to attend the event and would like a signed copy of Strangers in Budapest, please purchase the "Signed" version below.

 

Event Date: 
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
R.J. Julia Booksellers
768 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT 06443
Strangers in Budapest Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616204976
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - November 14th, 2017