Dog Days in the City (Hardcover)

Dog Days in the City Cover Image
By Jodi Kendall, Pascal Campion (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Twelve-year-old Josie must find forever homes for seven rambunctious foster puppies in this heartwarming sequel to The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, which the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books called “a compelling story that will appeal to the animal fans who loved The One and Only Ivan.”

Anytime Josie Shilling’s large family gets too chaotic, volunteering at the local animal clinic is the one place she can escape—and she loves working with the animals. But when a box mysteriously appears on the clinic’s front steps, Josie suddenly becomes responsible for seven adorable puppies!

Taking care of her pig, Hamlet, last fall was a bit harder than she thought. So how is she ever going to handle a whole litter of mischievous pups and find the right homes for them all? This summer will bring big changes for Josie as she learns about growing up, letting go, and loving your pack no matter what.

Dog Days in the City is a heartwarming blend of coming-of-age and animal friendship story that is perfect for fans of Ann M. Martin’s Rain Reign, Joan Bauer’s Almost Home, and Barbara O'Connor’s Wish.

About the Author


Jodi Kendall's debut novel is The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, followed by Dog Days in the City. Jodi grew up in the Midwest with her family of seven and their household of countless pets, including hamsters, ducks, dogs, rabbits, an iguana, and yes . . . even a farm pig! As a freelance writer, Jodi once followed a secret nighttime transport of a manta ray over state lines, swam with seven species of sharks, got up close and personal with venomous snakes, and motored through a saltwater crocodile breeding ground. These days, you can find Jodi typing away at home in New York City, where she's still an animal lover at heart. Visit Jodi online at www.jodikendall.com.

Praise For…


Praise for The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City: “Josie is an endearing heroine and her story is a compelling one. This will appeal to the fans who loved Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A charming tale, ideal for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks, Dana Alison Levy’s The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher, and classics by Eleanor Estes.”
— School Library Journal

“With echoes of Charlotte’s Web, Kendall’s sweet story of family, friendship, and growing pains should charm a broad range of readers.”
— Publishers Weekly

“An appealing protagonist figuring out what’s important to her...heartwarming and satisfying.”
— ALA Booklist

“Jodi Kendall’s utterly charming, heartfelt story of the unlikely bond between a girl and a pig just goes to show that sometimes it takes a little pig with a big heart to bring a family together again. Move over Wilbur, there’s a new pig in town!”
— Bobbie Pyron, critically-acclaimed author of A Dog’s Way Home

“We fell in love with The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City! Jodi Kendall has written a charming book with powerful lessons about family and animal welfare. No matter how big she gets, there’s always room for Hamlet in our hearts.”
— Steve Jenkins & Derek Walter, New York Times Bestselling authors of ESTHER THE WONDER PIG
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062484567
ISBN-10: 0062484567
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English