Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Summer at the Garden Cafe: A Novel (Finfarran Peninsula #2) (Paperback)

Summer at the Garden Cafe: A Novel (Finfarran Peninsula #2) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


The second in Felicity Hayes-McCoy's Finfarran Peninsula series, and sequel to The Library at the Edge of the World—a heartwarming story about secrets between four generations of Irish women, and the healing powers of books, love, and friendship.

The Garden Café, next to Lissbeg library, is a place where plans are formed and secrets shared, and where, even in high tourist season, people are never too busy to stop for a sandwich and a cup of tea. 

But twenty-one-year-old Jazz—daughter of the town’s librarian Hanna Casey—has a secret she can’t share. Still recovering from a car accident, and reeling from her father’s disclosures about his long-time affair, she’s taken a job at The Old Forge guesthouse, and begun to develop feelings for a man who’s strictly off-limits.

Meanwhile, involved in her own new affair with architect Brian Morton, Hanna is unaware of the turmoil in Jazz’s life—until her manipulative ex-husband, Malcom, reappears trying to mend his relationship with their daughter. Rebuffed at every turn, Malcolm must return to London, but his mother, Louisa, is on the case. Unbeknown to the rest of the family, she hatches a plan, finding an unlikely ally in Hanna’s mother, the opinionated Mary Casey.

Watching Jazz unravel, Hanna begins to wonder if secrets which Malcolm has forced her to keep may have harmed their beloved daughter more than she’d realized. But then, the Casey women are no strangers to secrets, something Hanna realizes when she discovers a journal, long buried in land she inherited from her great-aunt Maggie. Ultimately, it’s the painful lessons of the past that offer a way to the future, but it will take the shared experiences of four generations of women to find a way forward for Hanna and her family.


About the Author

Irish author Felicity Hayes-McCoy built a successful UK-based career as an actress and writer, working in theatre, music theatre, radio, TV, and digital media. She is the author of two memoirs, The House on an Irish Hillside and A Woven Silence: Memory, History & Remembrance, in addition to an illustrated book Enough Is Plenty: The Year on the Dingle Peninsula. She and her husband divide their time between London and Ireland.

Praise For…

“The landscape and the cadence of the villagers’ language leap off the page. Fans of Debbie Macomber’s Blossom series will enjoy this trip to Ireland.”

“Easy to get swept into … an altogether pleasant story about overcoming the past in a charming small-town setting.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Felicity Hayes-McCoy’s latest novel is a triumph. This is clear-eyed storytelling in a romantic setting, but it’s doing far more than weaving a beguiling tale…this book and this journey spill across generations and the result is a deeper meditation on what divides us and what restores us to ourselves and each other.”
— Irish Central

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062799043
ISBN-10: 0062799045
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Finfarran Peninsula