Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

You and Me and Us: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
You and Me and Us: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
6 on hand, as of Sep 25 12:45pm
(FICTION PAPERBACK)

Staff Reviews


Alexis and CeCe have a mother/daughter relationship that is best described as “prickly.” Thankfully, they have Tommy to keep them on track until his tragic cancer diagnosis plunges this family into chaos and despair. Written alternately from both Mother’s and daughter’s point of view, misunderstandings, secrets, and resentment threaten to destroy what time the family has left and the future they’ll need to build together. Emotions are all over the place with this novel and you’ll be reminded to let your friends and family know how important they are to you. Definitely worth the tears.

— Laura B.

Description


“Hammer is an expert at both tugging heartstrings and keeping the reader utterly immersed in a world of hope and heartbreak. A great new voice in women’s fiction.”-- Kristin Harmel, #1 international bestselling author of The Winemaker's Wife

The heartbreaking, yet hopeful, story of a mother and daughter struggling to be a family without the one person who holds them together—a perfect summer read for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marisa de los Santos.

Alexis Gold knows how to put the “work” in working mom. It’s the “mom” part that she’s been struggling with lately. Since opening her own advertising agency three years ago, Alexis has all but given up on finding a good work/life balance. Instead, she’s handed over the household reins to her supportive, loving partner, Tommy. While he’s quick to say they divide and conquer, Alexis knows that Tommy does most of the heavy lifting—especially when it comes to their teenage daughter, CeCe. 

Their world changes in an instant when Tommy receives a terminal cancer diagnosis, and Alexis realizes everything she’s worked relentlessly for doesn’t matter without him. So Alexis does what Tommy has done for her almost every day since they were twelve-year-old kids in Destin, Florida—she puts him first. And when the only thing Tommy wants is to spend one last summer together at “their” beach, she puts her career on hold to make it happen…even if it means putting her family within striking distance of Tommy’s ex, an actress CeCe idolizes.

But Alexis and Tommy aren’t the only ones whose lives have been turned inside out. In addition to dealing with the normal ups and downs that come with being a teenager, CeCe is also forced to confront her feelings about Tommy’s illness—and what will happen when the one person who’s always been there for her is gone. When the magic of first love brings a bright spot to her summer, CeCe is determined not to let her mother ruin that for her, too.

As CeCe’s behavior becomes more rebellious, Alexis realizes the only thing harder for her than losing Tommy will be convincing CeCe to give her one more chance.  

You and Me and Us is a beautifully written novel that examines the unexpected ways loss teaches us how to love.

About the Author


Founder of the Every Damn Day Writers, Alison Hammer has been spinning words to tell stories since she learned how to talk. A graduate of the University of Florida and the Creative Circus in Atlanta, she lived in nine cities before settling down in Chicago, where she works as a VP creative director at an advertising agency. You & Me & Us is her first novel.

Praise For…


You and Me and Us is that rare novel you want to savor even as you’re turning the pages as fast as possible. This poignant and heartrending story of a family redefining their roles in the face of a crisis made me smile and cry. Alison Hammer is an exciting new voice in women’s fiction, and I can’t wait to read what she writes next.”
— Camille Pagán, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You.

“A compassionate and deeply moving exploration of love and loss, You and Me and Us will break your heart and put it back together more than once by the last page. Alison Hammer has crafted an emotional story about marriage, family, and friendship that is both intimate and universal, and most importantly, unforgettable.” 
— Lisa Duffy, author of My Kind of People and This is Home.

“Hammer is an expert at both tugging heartstrings and keeping the reader utterly immersed in a world of hope and heartbreak. A great new voice in women’s fiction.”
— Kristin Harmel, #1 international bestselling author of The Winemaker's Wife

"A glorious, beautiful book."
— Kimmery Martin, author of The Antidote for Everything

"Written in alternating chapters narrated by Alexis and CeCe, this tale of love and loss will make readers think about what we hold dear and how far we’ll go to keep it. Those who love a poignant family drama will tear up as they consider how to navigate life without the one person who makes every day worth living."
Library Journal

"Hammer shines in a debut that takes readers on a journey through one family's heartbreaking summer... readers will want to keep tissues nearby." 
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062934857
ISBN-10: 0062934856
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 432
Language: English