Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds (Paperback)

Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds Cover Image
By Elise Gravel, Elise Gravel (Illustrator)
$7.99
On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
1 on hand, as of Dec 4 12:30pm
(KIDS GRAPHIC NOVELS 8-12)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Arlo & Pips series.

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“For fans of Narwhal and Jelly comes a new unlikely pair: Arlo the crow, a king among birds, and Pips, the yellow songbird who’s curious to know what makes Arlo so special. During their adventures, Arlo shows his new friend tricks and habits that prove just how crafty crows can be! I found myself laughing along with Arlo’s antics and learning a thing or two about crows. A perfect graphic novel for early readers.”
— Tori-Lynn Bell, House of Books, Kent, CT

Description


Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips. 

Like most crows, Arlo has a big brain. But Arlo has something else: a little pal who’s not afraid to tell him when he’s being insufferable!

In the first of three episodes, a battle of the brains and bird-to-bird banter soon turns into an unexpected friendship. Arlo and Pips' adventures include a visit the big city and the beach on their hunt for shiny things and French fries. Cool crow facts are included throughout the book.

Arlo & Pips is the HarperCollins Canada Kids' Top Pick for this fall! 

About the Author


Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!The Cranky BallerinaThe Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com. 

  



Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!The Cranky BallerinaThe Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com. 

  

Praise For…


“Fun and informative! This book will FLY off the shelves!”
— Ben Clanton, bestselling author of the Narwhal and Jelly series

"Straightforward sentences, limited color scheme, and thick black outlines make this a perfect match for newly independent readers. Through Pips’ inquisitiveness and Arlo’s desire to prove himself, readers also learn much about the intelligence, diet, and behavior of crows. A charming treasure."
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Gravel brings the smart attitude of her Disgusting Critters series to a more fictional narrative here, and it’s just as informative and accessible in its provision of kid-pleasing facts...Aspiring birders with a flair for the dramatic may be particularly drawn to Arlo’s braggadocio."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"This simple story of would-be friendship [has] Gravel's distinctive panels and snappy dialogue...crow facts appear throughout like cereal-box prizes"
Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062982223
ISBN-10: 0062982222
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 64
Language: English
Series: Arlo & Pips