Shopping cart

Partners in Crime: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Partners in Crime: A Novel By Alisha Rai Cover Image
$16.99
Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
9 on hand, as of Dec 7 9:19pm
(ROMANCE FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Alisha Rai's adventurous new romcom follows exes Mira and Naveen who find themselves kidnapped and running from an unknown enemy as they search for a priceless necklace stolen by Mira's late father. I loved every page of this book! Fast-paced, entertaining, and addicting, It's the type of book that will make you want to cancel your plans and snuggle up to finish reading in one sitting. 

— Becky

November 2022 Indie Next List


Partners in Crime is Alisha Rai at her very best! This is an action-packed, swoon worthy second-chance romance with humor, heart, and fun. Perfect for fans of The Lost City, Lovebirds, or Date Night; this book is an absolute blast!”
— Christine Bollow, Loyalty Bookstores, Washington, DC

Description


Indian Matchmaking meets Date Night in this fun, romantic adventure by Alisha Rai -- “One of the very brightest romance writers working right now.” (Entertainment Weekly)

Mira Patel’s got a solid accounting career, good friends, and a whole lot of distance between her and her dysfunctional family. All that’s missing is a stable romantic relationship. Armed with a spreadsheet and professional help, she sets out to find her partner in only legal activities, but much to her matchmaker’s dismay, no one is quite right.

Including Naveen Desai, the very first match she unceremoniously rejected. 

Lately Naveen’s been too focused on keeping his sick grandfather’s law firm afloat to think about love, and he’s stunned when Mira walks back into his life to settle her aunt’s affairs. He’s determined to keep things professional…though it’s impossible not to be intrigued by all of the secrets piling up around Mira.

If getting back together with an ex is a bad idea, getting kidnapped with one is even worse.

Suddenly, Naveen and Mira find themselves in a mad dash through Las Vegas to escape jewel thieves, evade crime bosses, and follow the clues to untangle the mess her family left behind. As her past comes back to haunt her, Mira despairs of ever finding someone who might understand her…but maybe, over the course of one wild night, she’ll find that he’s right by her side.

About the Author


Alisha Rai pens award-winning contemporary romances and her novels have been named Best Books of the Year by Washington Post, NPR, Amazon, Entertainment Weekly, Kirkus, and Cosmopolitan Magazine. When she’s not writing, Alisha is traveling or tweeting. To find out more about her books or to sign up for her newsletter, visit www.alisharai.com.  

Praise For…


“The gold standard in modern romance.”  — #1 New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey

“One of the very brightest romance writers working right now develops sizzling romantic tension...” — Entertainment Weekly

“[A] playful, good-natured story of growing into love...upbeat, witty, and sincere. Readers are sure to be satisfied.” — Publishers Weekly on First Comes Like

First Comes Like is a tender and sweet romance about two people in the limelight that turn a catfish situation into happily ever after. Perfect for fans of the fake-dating trope, social media connoisseurs and lovers of Bollywood!” — Nerd Daily

"Girl Gone Viral is a fun, addictive romance and when the layers kick in, it's a page-turner you won't put down." — NPR

"Girl Gone Viral is a fun, sexy rom com that's impossible to resist.” — PopSugar (25 of the Best New Books to Add to Your Reading List This Spring)

“Top-notch romance.” — New York Times Book Review

"The Right Swipe is a fun, hilarious and touching modern romance...  Anyone who has been in the dating world in the past 10 years will find something to relate to in this book, and will also fall hard for this love story." — Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of Royal Holiday

“Alisha Rai delivers compelling emotion, fascinating characters and edgy romance in a razor-sharp, thoroughly modern voice that readers will adore. I sure did!” — Jayne Ann Krentz

“The Right Swipe is everything you want in a Summer read: fun, clever, and so, so sexy.” — Popsugar

Partners in Crime by @AlishaRai is ??! Don't miss it! — #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Meg Cabot

“I absolutely loved it… volcano-hot sex and cackle-worthy dialogue…I highly recommend this!” — Sally Thorne, USA Today bestselling author of The Hating Game and 99 Percent Mine

“[T]he perfect combination of sweet, sexy, and laugh-out-loud funny.” — Bustle

“Alisha Rai — hands down, one of our favorite authors in the genre — manages to do something fresh every time she lowers her hands to a keyboard, and The Right Swipe is our favorite yet. It’s smart, empowering, juicy, and exploding with voice. We love getting lost in her books and this one is the perfect pick for these warm and indulgent days of summer! We absolutely adored this book!” — Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners

"Smart and sexy with banter to die for, Partners in Crime in the sizzling second chance romance you need in your life. I adore Alisha Rai's way with words; fresh, funny and downright addictive." — Bestselling Author Lindsey Kelk

“Rai’s GIRL GONE VIRAL sizzles with heart and family. Jas and Kat's fiery chemistry is irresistible, fulfilling every bodyguard fantasy. This book satisfies as much as Kat’s sourdough waffles.” — Roselle Lim, author of Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune

“Rai’s (First Comes Like) latest is a delightful departure from her “Modern Romance” series. Naveen and Mira have immediate, sizzling chemistry and fun banter, and the plot is full of intriguing twists and turns. Readers won’t be able to put this one down.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Rai continues her hot streak with this delightful action-packed rom-com/caper mash-up full of jewel heists, sizzling hot sex scenes, and high-stakes backroom poker games.. This is a must-read for romance lovers.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“My first time reading Alisha Rai, but BOY, it won't be my last! A perfect equilibrium of intoxicating fun, page-turning mystery, sexiness so steamy it's boiling, and genuine heart and tenderness. Rai is so good at twisting tropes, turning them upside down, and braiding them all together—I didn't see a single twist in the last third coming. A heartfelt and rollicking romp.” — Anna Weber, White Whale Bookstore (Pittsburgh, PA)

“This absurd heist-in-reverse is so much fun. Mira, a staid accountant, is thrown together with her equally stodgy ex as they have to steal back a priceless necklace originally stolen by Mira's con-man father - everything about this second chance romance is a rip-roaring good time.” — Rachel Person, Northshire (Manchester Center, VT)

“What starts in Vegas... may not ever leave you alone? Mira Patel has worked hard to keep her dysfunctional family in her rearview mirror and away from parts of her life like too-perfect-to-keep Naveen, but some things can't be outrun. With fun heist-style energy, this ex-lovers on the run romance offers second chances and the shot at a glittering future.” — Amy Van Keuren, Charter Books (Newport, RI)

“Mira just wants to settle down with a boring man and live a nice, quiet life. But after her 13th attempt with the Indian matchmaker, she's not sure that's ever going to happen. But after trying to settle her late aunt's estate, with her first ex from the matchmaking auntie no less, she finds herself on the run from criminals, searching for a priceless item to get them off her back. But can they find it in time? Rai delves I to romantic suspense with her new book and it's sure to keep you on the edge of your seat.” — Jennifer Jones, Bookmiser, Inc. (Marietta, GA)

“So. Much. Fun. Failed matchmaking and capers galore. And a great second chance romance (which is usually so not my jam, but I adored this match) to boot! I dare you not to root for Mira and Naveen, and their off the charts chemistry, for their well deserved HEA.” — Audrey Huang, Belmont Books (Belmont, MA)

“A great second chance romance with a ton of action! Mira is pulled into a conflict between her late conman father and an underworld organization when a cryptic letter is left for her, and her ex is abducted with her when he’s in the wrong place at the wrong time. Great care was given to showing a recovered alcoholic who is in a good place with his journey and a strong, capable woman who doesn’t shove it down your throat or unnecessarily save the day. Both counterparts were very well balanced for each other, and they felt like real people.” — Kate Larson, Ballast Book Company (Bremerton, WA)



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063119468
ISBN-10: 0063119463
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 400
Language: English