Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Ichiro (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Ichiro Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
3 on hand, as of Oct 22 6:15am
(KIDS GRAPHIC NOVELS 10+)

Staff Reviews


Fans of Percy Jackson will latch on to this re-release graphic novel as it mixes our modern-day life with that of mythical Japanese creatures. With important themes discussed, like masculinity, immigration and family, Ichiro will jump to the top of your to be read pile. This award-winning graphic novel is so unbelievably beautiful that you’ll come for the story but stay for the illustrations!

— Lindsay A.

Description


Exploring themes of grief, masculinity, and belonging, Ryan Inzana’s award-winning work is perfect for fans of Hey, Kiddo, American Born Chinese, and Tilly Walden.

Eisner Nominee · Asian/Pacific American Young Adult Literature Honor

Raised by his Japanese mother, Ichiro idolizes his dead American father, and struggles to fit in. When his mother decides to visit Japan, Ichiro is left with his grandfather, in a country he doesn’t know. 

Grandfather becomes Ichi’s guide, sharing Japan with him. But one night, a monster drags Ichi away—into the domain of the gods! Now, he must face his fears and learn about the nature of man, of gods, and of war. He also learns there are no easy answers—for gods or men.

Called thought-provoking, wholly original, and captivating by reviewers, Ichiro “asks hard questions for readers but challenges them to arrive at their own conclusion” (Booklist) and offers “a powerful commentary on war and peace” (Bulletin). Now with a new "Making of Ichiro" section for a glimpse at creator Ryan Inzana's process.

 

About the Author


Ryan Inzana is an illustrator and comic artist whose work has appeared in numerous magazines, ad campaigns, books, and various other media all over the world. Ichiro is his second graphic novel. He lives in New Jersey, with his wife. www.ryaninzana.com.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358238409
ISBN-10: 0358238404
Publisher: Etch/HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2020
Pages: 288