Reign of the Fallen (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Reign of the Fallen Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK ENOUGH! The high fantasy, the magic system, the badass characters, the LGBT & the unbreakable friendships have put this one on my favorites list. Odessa is a master necromancer—someone who goes into the Deadlands to bring citizens of Karthia back from the dead. But there are risks & when someone close to Odessa dies, she must do whatever it takes to save her country.

— ARC REVIEWER, Gab V., age 16

Description


"This edgy fantasy doesn't just blur boundaries of genre, of gender, of past and present, life and death--it explodes them." --Cinda Williams Chima, New York Times bestselling author of The Seven Realms and The Shattered Realms

Without the dead, she'd be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia's master necromancers, catering to the kingdom's ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it's Odessa's job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead--and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees?

Fighting alongside her fellow mages--and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating--Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen, Reign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

About the Author


Sarah Glenn Marsh has been an avid fantasy reader from the day her dad handed her a copy of The Hobbit and promised it would change her life; she's been making up words and worlds ever since. When she's not writing, Sarah enjoys painting, ghost hunting, traveling, and all things nerdy. She lives in Richmond, Virginia, with her husband and their menagerie: four rescued greyhounds, a bird, and many fish. She is the author of Fear the Drowning Deep and Reign of the Fallen.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780448494395
ISBN-10: 0448494396
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Reign of the Fallen