The High Season (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The High Season Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Escape to the North Fork of Long Island for the perfect summer read.  Imagine a beautifully restored house on the water that you have to rent out each summer to make ends meet.  On top of that add a wealthy renter who's ready to take over so much more than the house.  Fans of Adriana Trigiani and Cathleen Schine will love this witty, touching, funny and revengeful story. 

— Barb

Description


"A shimmering story of art, money, and celebrity, The High Season is wicked summer fun."--Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

The Hamptons hath no fury like a woman scorned.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet Long Island village, the house is her nest egg--the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It's Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls "the summer bummer" the family's annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. The widow of a blue-chip artist, Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a "gorgeous satellite" stepson. But soon Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie's life--her house, her friends, even her husband (okay, ex-husband, but still). And after her job as the director of a local museum is threatened, Ruthie finally decides to fight back.

Meanwhile, away from the watchful eyes of her parents, Jem is tasting independence at her first summer job, but soon finds herself growing up too fast. One of Ruthie's employees, a master of self-invention named Doe, infiltrates the inner circle of an eccentric billionaire and his wayward daughter. With a coterie of social climbers and Ruthie's old flame thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same.

In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons--a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.

Advance praise for The High Season

"The sophisticated and delicious portrayal of subtle class warfare at the shore would make a perfect beach book, but it's a pleasure to read any time."--Library Journal (starred review)

"You will revel in the human drama and comedy of this skillfully told tale. Wise, funny, and insightful."--Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author of Kiss Carlo

About the Author


Judy Blundell is a New York Times bestselling author. Her novel What I Saw and How I Lied won the 2008 National Book Award for Young People's Literature. The High Season is her first novel for adults. She lives on Long Island with her husband and daughter.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525508717
ISBN-10: 0525508716
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: May 22nd, 2018
Pages: 416
Language: English