Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

The Authenticity Project: A Novel (Large Print / Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Authenticity Project: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Jojo Moyes, and Jenny Colgan will find much to love in this clever British-based book! The novel begins as a lonely old man attempts to share his 'real' self by writing in a notebook, and leaving it for someone else to pick up and add to it. And they do. The characters each have hope and needs that, as a group, they begin to answer. A fun twist, love interests, and wry humor create a thoroughly enjoyable book.  

— Barb

February 2020 Indie Next List


“Sometimes, especially in this digital age, we get caught up in the idea that while our lives are a mess, everyone else has got it together. And maybe — as Clare Pooley explores in The Authenticity Project — if we were all just honest about our insecurities and difficulties and worries, it would be easier for people to form stronger bonds. This is a charming book with a sweet love story, but at its heart it’s a reminder that we need each other more than we need our phones.”
— Melissa Fox, Watermark Books & Cafe, Wichita, KS

Description


"A clever, uplifting book that entertains and makes you think."
--Sophie Kinsella, #1 New York Times bestselling author

The story of a solitary green notebook that brings together six strangers and leads to unexpected friendship, and even love


Julian Jessop, an eccentric, lonely artist and septuagenarian believes that most people aren't really honest with each other. But what if they were? And so he writes--in a plain, green journal--the truth about his own life and leaves it in his local café. It's run by the incredibly tidy and efficient Monica, who furtively adds her own entry and leaves the book in the wine bar across the street. Before long, the others who find the green notebook add the truths about their own deepest selves--and soon find each other In Real Life at Monica's Café.

The Authenticity Project's cast of characters--including Hazard, the charming addict who makes a vow to get sober; Alice, the fabulous mommy Instagrammer whose real life is a lot less perfect than it looks online; and their other new friends--is by turns quirky and funny, heartbreakingly sad and painfully true-to-life. It's a story about being brave and putting your real self forward--and finding out that it's not as scary as it seems. In fact, it looks a lot like happiness.

The Authenticity Project is just the tonic for our times that readers are clamoring for--and one they will take to their hearts and read with unabashed pleasure.

About the Author


Clare Pooley spent twenty years in the heady world of advertising before becoming a full-time mother. Pooley writes from her kitchen table in Fulham, London where she lives with her husband, three children, dog and an African pygmy hedgehog.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593171820
ISBN-10: 0593171829
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Publication Date: February 18th, 2020
Pages: 496