Shopping cart

Caraval (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Caraval By Stephanie Garber Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Caraval series.

Staff Reviews


Scarlett and her sister, Tella, have longed to be a part of Caraval ever since they were little. When they finally get the chance to attend, Scarlett, a newly engaged young woman, is no longer sure it is the right thing to do. Tella, however, has other plans.

With the help of a roguish sailor, Tella brings Scarlett to Caraval but when they wash up on the island, Tella is nowhere to be found. Scarlett and the sailor, Julian, are left to carry on to Caraval to find her. The catch?  Tella has been taken by Legend, the mysterious maker of Caraval itself and finding her is the object of the game.

Now, Scarlett and Julian must stay one step ahead of the other players to find Tella. But who can you trust when you are told to trust no one and that nothing is as it seems?  Caraval is absolutely spellbinding, engrossing and just plain magical. I could not put it down for even a minute!

— Kathy

Description


Welcome, welcome to CARAVAL, Stephanie Garber’s enchanting, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling fantasy debut about two sisters swept up in a mysterious competition filled with magic, heartbreak, and danger

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful and cruel father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to attend. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, and her sister disappears forever.

Continue the adventure in Legendary and Finale—out now!

About the Author


Stephanie Garber is the #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling author of Once Upon a Broken Heart, The Ballad of Never After, and the Caraval trilogy. Her books have been translated into thirty languages.

Praise For…


NEW YORK TIMES bestseller
#1 Indie Next Pick
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Flying Start
ALA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults List
YALSA Teens’ Top 10 Pick
TEEN VOGUE Best YA Book of the Year
“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA TODAY
“A spellbinding tale of love, loss, and hope.”PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, starred review
“A twisty, terrifically fun page-turner perfect for fans of THE NIGHT CIRCUS, STARDUST, and THE HUNGER GAMES.SLJ
THE HUNGER GAMES meets THE NIGHT CIRCUS in this tale of two sisters enmeshed in a deadly game.”ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY (Top 10 YA Novel of the Year)
“I lost myself in this world and never wanted to come out.” —Sabaa Tahir
“Beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh
“Shimmers with magic.” —Marie Rutkoski
“Like stepping into a living dream.” —Stacey Lee



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250095251
ISBN-10: 1250095255
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Caraval