Shopping cart

A Ruinous Fate (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
A Ruinous Fate By Kaylie Smith Cover Image
$10.99
Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
1 on hand, as of Jun 18 9:20pm
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

Staff Reviews


This book was a lot of fun! It feels like classic fantasy, with witches and sirens and faeries, all bound together by the fates they’re trying to escape. Action packed and full of snappy writing, this is a great, easy read whether you’re new to fantasy or are a seasoned veteran of the genre. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass!

— Bridey

Description


TARGET CONSUMER: For readers of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black for its expansive fantasy world, swoon-worthy romance, and compelling ensemble cast fans will fall in love with.

Enter a world on the brink of war where one more Roll from a magical dice may set a witch with a secret down a dangerous path.


Fate does not choose the weak. Fate chooses the ready.

Illustros is a cursed realm ruled by the ruthless Gods of Fate, and no one understands the Fates’ wrath more than Calliope Rosewood. Blessed with unspeakable powers that terrify even the most dangerous witches and fae, Calla hides her forbidden magic in shame and fear that one wrong touch could send her to her death. With only her two best friends in tow, Calla deserted her coven and has been on the run ever since.

Worse, Calla is concealing an even darker secret: fate has chosen her as the final prophesied Blood Warrior, the being destined to start the Fates’ War, which will decimate her people and eradicate their magic. 

After a betrayal from her infuriating ex Ezra leads her one step closer to fulfilling that age-old prophecy, Calla is desperate to do whatever it takes to reset her fate. So when a mysterious and charming witch offers to help Calla do just that, she immediately agrees to his plan. Only catch? That plan includes journeying into the deadly Neverending Forest with Ezra and said witch, who just so happens to be Ezra’s tempting older brother. Torn between her past desires and alluring new possibilities, Calla brings along her best friends to fight what lies ahead. 

As the group ventures into the enchanted woods together, they’ll all soon learn that choosing your destiny comes with dire consequences . . . and the Fates are not to be tested. Calla believes the Fates have it out for her, while others believe they have chosen her for a reason. But in the end, Calla will have to fight to forge her own destiny and decide if the risk of choosing herself is worth the possibility of damning everyone else.

About the Author


Kaylie Smith is a writer and lover of all things fantasy. She grew up in Louisiana where she frequently haunted bookstores and practiced her craft. After college she decided to pursue her life-long dream of becoming an author, but when she isn’t writing or reading, she can be found at home with her menagerie of animals, fussing over her houseplants, or annoying people about astrology. You can find her on all social media as @KaylsMoon or check out her website at KaylieSmithBooks.com


Product Details
ISBN: 9781368081610
ISBN-10: 1368081614
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: November 28th, 2023
Pages: 448
Language: English