Shopping cart

Burning Kingdoms (The Internment Chronicles #2) (Paperback)

Burning Kingdoms (The Internment Chronicles #2) By Lauren DeStefano Cover Image
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Internment Chronicles series.


Danger descends in the second book of The Internment Chronicles, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Chemical Garden trilogy.

After escaping Internment, Morgan and her fellow fugitives land on the ground to finally learn about the world beneath their floating island home.

The ground is a strange place where water falls from the sky as snow, and people watch moving pictures and visit speakeasies. A place where families can have as many children as they want, their dead are buried in vast gardens of bodies, and Internment is the feature of an amusement park.

It is also a land at war.

Everyone who fled Internment had their own reasons to escape their corrupt haven, but now they’re caught under the watchful eye of another king who wants to dominate his world. They may have made it to the ground, but have they dragged Internment with them?

About the Author

Lauren DeStefano is the author of The Internment Chronicles and the New York Times bestselling Chemical Garden trilogy, which includes Wither, Fever, and Sever. She earned her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut. Visit her at

Praise For…

"Fans of the dystopian genre will enjoy"

"Readers will be eager to learn if worlds figuratively—or perhaps literally—collide"
— Booklist

"Fans will want to read this nuanced second volume"
— School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781442480650
ISBN-10: 1442480653
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 22nd, 2016
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: The Internment Chronicles