Utility Navigation

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Bad Order (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Bad Order Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This perfect science fiction novel (NOT fantasy) is my favorite book this year. The aliens remind me of Galaxy Quest, and the sibling relationship between Mary and Albert is realistic and heartwarming. B. B. Ullman writes in a way that makes me think this could happen right now, in my backyard. Fans of Stranger Things or A Wrinkle in Time will devour this great summer read!

— Jamie

Description


A Wrinkle in Time meets Stranger Things in an out-of-this-world fast-paced middle grade story about a sister and her special little brother fighting to save the world from an interdimensional catastrophe.

Mary Day's life has always been different, because her little brother, Albie, is different. He doesn't speak, but he can communicate with Mary via mental telepathy, sending her--and her alone--"mind memos." To Albie, Mary is Pearl, the person he holds most precious. Then, one snowy day, Albie transmits an alarming two-word message: Bad order. Soon after, Mary and her best friend, Brit, discover a mysterious red mist in the woods that seems to draw them in . . . and turn all their feelings negative. A visit from three extraterrestrials (hilariously trying to pass as human) reveals the truth: there's a disastrous leak in the dimensional universe--and if Albie can't repair it, angry, evil thoughts will overtake the entire population. Can Mary, Brit, Brit's brother Lars, and Albie save the world? And will Mary finally realize that she, like Albie, has something special inside herself?

About the Author


B. B. Ullman is the author of The Fairies of Nutfolk Wood and Whistle Bright Magic, a Nutfolk Tale (both HarperCollins). She lives in Western Washington State.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781454931065
ISBN-10: 145493106X
Publisher: Sterling Children's Books
Publication Date: June 4th, 2019
Pages: 224
Language: English