Utility Navigation

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Chronicle of the Mound Builders (Paperback)

Chronicle of the Mound Builders Cover Image
$14.99
Special Order

Description


#1 Amazon Best Selling Author

A race against time to unlock the secret of the greatest archaeological mystery of the 21st century... before it destroys them all.

Archaeologist Angela Hunter unearths an ancient codex from a Native American burial mound. But how could an illiterate society have produced such complex writing?

Seven hundred years ago, a thriving civilization suddenly vanished. As Angela deciphers the mysterious codex symbols, she unravels one of archaeology's greatest mysteries.

Despite forces trying to stop her from learning the chronicle's secrets, Angela discovers the horrifying truth. Can she prevent the tragedies of the past from happening again today?

If you enjoy action packed mysteries and thrillers about ancient civilizations, you'll like this adventure that takes you on a journey in two timelines: the era of the Aztecs & Cahokia Mound Builders and the present with archaeologist Angela Hunter. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Elizabeth Peters will enjoy the strong female characters in Aztec Curse.

Previously published as Chronicle of the Mound Builders.

Interview with the Author Q: Where did you come up with the idea for your novel?

A: Living near the mysterious Cahokia Mounds, I always wondered what happened to the Mound Builders who lived there long ago. When I read an article about a newly discovered village right in my hometown, I couldn't wait to explore it. That sparked my idea to write a novel about how the civilization vanished, and center the story around the Aztex codex, a fictitious relic.

Q: Have you always been a fan of archaeology? What intrigues you most?

A: I love both fiction and nonfiction books about archaeology. It's fascinating how archaeologists solve mysteries through the clues they find and interpret from digs. The Native American cultures in particular interest me. I love learning what their lives were really like.

Q: Without giving too much away, can you describe the book's element of mystery?

A: The basic mystery is what happened to the Cahokia Mound Builders. Their civilization vanished overnight and no one knows why or how. Aztec Curse follows the people living in that time period as they move toward their destiny, while Angela tries to solve the mystery in modern times by uncovering clues from an ancient codex.

Q: What do you hope readers take away from your novel?

A: I hope readers enjoy the action and adventure while learning about the ancient Aztecs and their culture, such as Aztec sacrifice and the Mexican pyramids, as well as the culture of Cahokia, City of the Sun.

Q: How did you learn about archaeology?

A: Dr. Meredith Hawkins of Archaeological Research Center of St. Louis graciously showed me around the Dampier Dig site and provided basic instruction on archaeology.

Q: If you could be one of your characters, who would you choose?

A: Definitely Angela Hunter. She's a strong person: smart, funny, and courageous, but not perfect.

Q: What are your favorite genres to read?

A: Archaeology mysteries and thrillers, of course I also read historical fiction, chick lit, psychological thrillers, and science fiction. Very eclectic

About the Author


Elle Marie's books are diverse but all have one thing in common-they reflect her passions. From maintaining a healthy lifestyle (Living the Thin Life) to unearthing mysteries (Aztec Curse) to visiting her daughter in Paris (contributor to the anthology That's Paris), she writes what she knows and loves. Her most recent book, Sales and Fails, is a humorous account of all the struggles she encountered marketing her first three books, peppered with a few success stories as well. She's never far from her computer; by day she works in the IT field, by night she writes her latest inspiration. When she does step away from the screen, she enjoys spending time with her husband in their hometown of St. Louis.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781479206650
ISBN-10: 1479206652
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: October 29th, 2012
Pages: 396
Language: English