Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Past Perfect Life (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Past Perfect Life Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


While applying for college, Ally Smith finds that her loving father kidnapped her when she was three. I was so emotionally invested in Ally that I felt her pain, joy, and anger in each page. Eulberg delivers a heart-wrenching story of betrayal and discovery.

— Lindsay A.

Description


An exciting new direction for acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg, Past Perfect Life is a tense and tender read about secrets and lies, reality and identity, and the ways we put ourselves back together when everything is broken.

Small-town Wisconsin high school senior Allison Smith loves her life the way it is--spending quality time with her widowed father and her tight-knit circle of friends, including best friend Marian and maybe-more-than-friends Neil. Sure she is stressed out about college applications . . . who wouldn't be? In a few short months, everything's going to change, big time.

But when Ally files her applications, they send up a red flag . . . because she's not Allison Smith. And Ally's--make that Amanda's--ordinary life is suddenly blown apart. Was everything before a lie? Who will she be after? And what will she do as now comes crashing down around her?

Perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, this is the story of one teen's search for herself amid the confusion of a shattered past and a future far from all she planned.

About the Author


Elizabeth Eulberg is the award-winning author of middle-grade novels The Great Shelby Holmes and The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match, and internationally bestselling author of YA titles The Lonely Hearts Club, Prom & Prejudice, Take a Bow, Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off Friends, We Can Work it Out, and Just Another Girl.Originally from Wisconsin, Elizabeth now lives outside of Manhattan, but continues to eat cheese and cheer on the Packers because you can take the girl out of the Midwest . . .
www.elizabetheulberg.com @ElizEulberg (Twitter)

Praise For…


“This novel takes the self-identity trope and intensifies its scope, layering in the mature navigation of family relationships. An honest pace, salt-of-the-earth protagonist, and sympathetic, well-rounded characters.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Riveting. . . . This thought-provoking novel captures the devastating legacy of family lies” —Publishers Weekly

"Fans of classics . . . such as Cooney’s The Face on the Milk Carton and Pfeffer’s Twice Takenwill relish this venerable ripped-from-the-headlines premise." - BCCB

"The story has realistic depth, while also allowing for enough suspense, drama, and light romance to keep readers turning pages." - SLC

“Eulberg . . . shine[s] in her ability to aptly portray family as both imperfect and nebulous.” —Booklist

“Once readers discover [Ally's] new reality, they will race to the end of the story. . . . Compelling.” —School Library Journal

“Eulberg writes with huge heart, an open mind, and a delicious sense of fun.” —E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of WE WERE LIARS on JUST ANOTHER GIRL

“This quick read will appeal to fans looking for believable characters, such as those in novels by Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins.” —Booklist on JUST ANOTHER GIRL

“A pitch-perfect rom com. With a nod to When Harry Met Sally, rising YA romance writer Eulberg situates relatable characters in realistic situations. . . . A humorous and cozy story about friendships and relationships, and the oh-so-fine line between them.” —Booklist on BETTER OFF FRIENDS

“Jane Austen for the Gossip Girl set. . . . Eulberg's adaptation is faithful without being dogmatic; she successfully translates the essential elements of Austen's narrative into 21st-century dialogue and descriptions and still leaves enough room for play with the details.” —Kirkus Reviews on PROM AND PREJUDICE

“This fresh, fun, fabulous read will have you cheering for new beginnings. Five shiny gold stars!” —Susanne Colasanti, author of WHEN IT HAPPENS and TAKE ME THERE on REVENGE OF THE GIRL WITH THE GREAT PERSONALITY

Product Details
ISBN: 9781547600922
ISBN-10: 1547600926
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: July 9th, 2019
Pages: 336