The Psychology of Time Travel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Psychology of Time Travel Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


What if, in 1967, four women from different scientific disciplines had invented time travel? The effects on themselves and society start small, then multiply, forever changing how people experience friendship, family, love, morality, life, death, and even murder. An intriguing and quick-paced read.

— Laura

Description


"A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person." --HelloGiggles
"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups."--Refinery29
"A fun and twisty read."
--MindBodyGreen

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world's first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project--and future of time travel--in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team--erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women's fiction alike.

About the Author


Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. Since 2017, Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Before that she worked as a copywriter, a dollhouse maker, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. This is her first novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781683319443
ISBN-10: 1683319443
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 12th, 2019
Pages: 336
Language: English