Shopping cart

The New Life (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
The New Life By Tom Crewe, Freddie Fox (Read by) Cover Image
By Tom Crewe, Freddie Fox (Read by)
$39.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


A beautifully written historical fiction novel, this is a heartfelt and sometimes heartbreaking story of two men, John Addington and Henry Ellis, who, in 1894 wrote a book arguing that homosexuality should no longer be considered a crime. The book is set to publish just as Oscar Wilde is arrested and his trial begins, setting into motion events that upend both men’s lives and marriages.

— Marilyn

January 2023 Indie Next List


“Crewe pays great tribute to those throughout history who have braved the battles to rightfully normalize homosexuality. Addington and Ellis boldly believed in a New Life for everyone. Their legacy is nothing less than inspiring.”
— Barbara Hall, Readers' Books, Sonoma, CA

Description


A brilliant and captivating debut, in the tradition of Alan Hollinghurst and Colm T ib n, about two marriages, two forbidden love affairs, and the passionate search for social and sexual freedom in late 19th-century London.In this powerful, visceral novel about love, sex, and the struggle for a better world, two men collaborate on a book in defense of homosexuality, then a crime--risking their old lives in the process. In the summer of 1894, John Addington and Henry Ellis begin writing a book arguing that what they call "inversion," or homosexuality, is a natural, harmless variation of human sexuality. Though they have never met, John and Henry both live in London with their wives, Catherine and Edith, and in each marriage there is a third party: John has a lover, a working class man named Frank, and Edith spends almost as much time with her friend Angelica as she does with Henry. John and Catherine have three grown daughters and a long, settled marriage, over the course of which Catherine has tried to accept her husband's sexuality and her own role in life; Henry and Edith's marriage is intended to be a revolution in itself, an intellectual partnership that dismantles the traditional understanding of what matrimony means. Shortly before the book is to be published, Oscar Wilde is arrested. John and Henry must decide whether to go on, risking social ostracism and imprisonment, or to give up the project for their own safety and the safety of the people they love. Is this the right moment to advance their cause? Is publishing bravery or foolishness? And what price is too high to pay for a new way of living? A richly detailed, insightful, and dramatic debut novel, The New Life is an unforgettable portrait of two men, a city, and a generation discovering the nature and limits of personal freedom as the 20th century comes into view.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797149271
ISBN-10: 179714927X
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2023
Language: English