Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

The Cold Millions (MP3 CD)

Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Millions Cover Image
$39.99
Backordered

Staff Reviews


This coming of age story drew me in quickly and deeply. Set during the struggles of workers, union organizers, and business owners in early 20th century Spokane, WA, it dives into the nearly impossible choices have-nots are faced with during a time that will become a historical era, just as relevant in tumultuous 2020. Highly recommended for readers of Egan’s Manhattan Beach, Wallace Stegner, and Walter’s other highly acclaimed titles, including Beautiful Ruins

— Laura

Description


A Most Anticipated Book by: The New York Times Book Review * Wall Street Journal * Time * Esquire * The Millions * Vogue * People * New York Post * USA Today * Medium * The Philadelphia Inquirer * Newsday

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Ruins comes another "literary miracle" (NPR)--a propulsive, richly entertaining novel about two brothers swept up in the turbulent class warfare of the early twentieth century.

An intimate story of brotherhood, love, sacrifice, and betrayal set against the panoramic backdrop of an early twentieth-century America that eerily echoes our own time, The Cold Millions offers a kaleidoscopic portrait of a nation grappling with the chasm between rich and poor, between harsh realities and simple dreams.

The Dolans live by their wits, jumping freight trains and lining up for day work at crooked job agencies. While sixteen-year-old Rye yearns for a steady job and a home, his older brother, Gig, dreams of a better world, fighting alongside other union men for fair pay and decent treatment. Enter Ursula the Great, a vaudeville singer who performs with a live cougar and introduces the brothers to a far more dangerous creature: a mining magnate determined to keep his wealth and his hold on Ursula.

Dubious of Gig's idealism, Rye finds himself drawn to a fearless nineteen-year-old activist and feminist named Elizabeth Gurley Flynn. But a storm is coming, threatening to overwhelm them all, and Rye will be forced to decide where he stands. Is it enough to win the occasional battle, even if you cannot win the war?

Featuring an unforgettable cast of cops and tramps, suffragists and socialists, madams and murderers, The Cold Millions is a tour de force from a "writer who has planted himself firmly in the first rank of American authors" (Boston Globe).



Product Details
ISBN: 9781799942559
ISBN-10: 1799942554
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 27th, 2020
Language: English