Shopping cart

Above the Fire (Hardcover)

Above the Fire By Michael O'Donnell Cover Image
$25.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


An enthralling debut, Above the Fire crystallizes the relationship between a father and son as they survive a winter of isolation. Perfect for fans of The Dog Stars by Peter Heller and The Road by Cormac McCarthy.

Laboring under a shared loss, Doug and his young son, Tim, set out on a late season backpacking trip through the White Mountains of New Hampshire. They find beauty and solidarity in the outdoors, making friends along the trail and falling into the rhythms of an expedition. But when reports of warfare and social collapse reach the ranger station, Doug--seeking to protect the only family he has left--withdraws even further into the backcountry.

The alpine winter presents its own dangers, as father and son must endure the elements, the solitude, and the ever-present threat of outsiders. As their isolation intensifies, and the nature of the country's disorder becomes more unsettling, their bond with each other grows more fierce. But as spring approaches, they must decide whether--and how--to confront the perils of a changed world.



Product Details
ISBN: 9798200987757
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication Date: December 5th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English