Shopping cart

Matteo (MP3 CD)

Staff Pick Badge
Matteo By Michael Leali, Mark Sanderlin (Read by), Ferdelle Capistrano (Read by) Cover Image
$41.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


What does it take to be a real boy? Being good at baseball? Keeping your best friends? Making your parents proud? Probably NOT sprouting twigs and leaves! This modern take on Pinocchio is full of humor and heart, and a great middle grade read.

— Laura J

Description


"This enchanting, modern homage to Pinocchio reminds us anything is possible if we're true to ourselves." --Cynthia Leitich Smith, award-winning author of Ancestor Approved and Sisters of the Neversea

Eleven-year-old Matteo has never felt like one of the other boys. He's sure that will change when he joins the Blue Whales, the baseball team his dad once played for. This is his chance to grow into a son his father can be proud of.

And grow Matteo does, but not the way he expected. Instead, he starts sprouting leaves and finding bark all over his skin. Alarmed, Matteo starts digging for the truth about what's happening to him--and finds that all clues lead back to the oak tree at the center of town, which Creeksiders have always believed is a little bit magic. As his parents start noticing something is wrong, the truth gets harder to hide--and Matteo makes some surprising discoveries about himself, his hometown, and his entire family tree.

From Michael Leali, author of The Civil War of Amos Abernathy, this earnest deconstruction of what it means to be a "real boy" is full of humor and heart, and a surefire home run for readers of Mark Oshiro, Anne Ursu, and Katherine Applegate.



Product Details
ISBN: 9798212688703
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Language: English