Shopping cart

Alison Espach, "Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance" in conversation with Caroline Zancan

Join us for the Launch of:

Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance

Featuring Alison Espach & Caroline Zancan

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Book CoverFrom Alison Espach, author of the New York Times Editor’s Choice novel The Adults, comes a dazzlingly unconventional love story for readers of Ask Again, Yes and Tell the Wolves I’m Home.

For much of her life, Sally Holt has been mystified by the things her older sister, Kathy, seems to have been born knowing. Kathy has answers for all of Sally’s questions about life, about love, and about Billy Barnes, a rising senior and local basketball star who mans the concession stand at the town pool. The girls have been fascinated by Billy ever since he jumped off the roof in elementary school, but Billy has never shown much interest in them until the summer before Sally begins eighth grade. By then, their mutual infatuation with Billy is one of the few things the increasingly different sisters have in common. Sally spends much of that summer at the pool, watching in confusion and excitement as her sister falls deeper in love with Billy—until a tragedy leaves Sally’s life forever intertwined with his.

Opening in the early nineties and charting almost two decades of shared history and missed connections, Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance is both a breathtaking love story about two broken people who are unexplainably, inconveniently drawn to each other and a wryly astute coming-of-age tale brimmingAlison Espach with unexpected moments of joy.

Alison Espach is the author of the novel The Adults, a New York Times Editors' Choice and a Barnes & Noble Discover pick. Her short stories and essays have appeared in Vogue, Joyland, Glamour, Salon, and McSweeney’s, among other places. She is currently a professor of creative writing at Providence College in Rhode Island.

Caroline ZancanCaroline Zancan is a Senior Editor at Holt, where she acquires and publishes literary and upmarket fiction. She’s particularly drawn to story-driven literary fiction with a big pitch. As an Ohio expat she loves stories about the Midwest and the South and all the states that don’t always get enough credit for their texture and nuance. Her taste in fiction has a dark streak, and she’s always on the lookout for meticulously plotted literary horror and mystery novels. She edited Heather Harpham’s Happiness, which was a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick; Nafkote Tamirat’s The Parking Lot Attendant, which was a New York Times Notable Book and shortlisted for the Center for Fiction’s First Novel Prize; and National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon’s Sleepwalk. Recent acquisitions for Holt include Alison Espach’s Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance and a debut memoir by the acclaimed novelist Hannah Pittard.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

JOIN US IN PERSON AT OUR MADISON LOCATION

Event Date: 
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - 7:00pm EDT
Event address: 
768 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT 06443
Staff Pick Badge
Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250823144
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - May 17th, 2022

$0.00
SKU: supportevents
$
Minimum: $5.00