Shopping cart

Kemper Donovan, "The Busy Body"

Cracking the Case:
A Night of Sleuthing with Kemper Donovan

RESERVE YOUR SPOT TODAY!

Step into a world of mystery and intrigue with Kemper Donovan's The Busy Body. With nods to classic whodunits and a dash of modern wit, join us for an evening filled with suspense and laughter. Whether you're a seasoned sleuth or a newcomer to the genre, don't miss your chance to crack the case! Reserve your spot now for a night of twists, turns, and unexpected revelations.


The Busy Body book cover

Veep meets Agatha Christie in this intelligent, wildly funny, literary mystery for fans of Richard Osman, Anthony Horowitz, and Nita Prose!

The host of the All About Agatha podcast injects the spark and fizz of a Golden Age murder mystery into the present-day, as a ghostwriter is chosen to collaborate on a presidential candidate’s memoir, only to discover just how much trouble a smart woman with time on her hands can get up to...

I tell other people’s stories for a living... I nip and tuck their excesses, soften their hard edges, polish whatever an armada of editors and publicists deem unsightly till it sparkles.

It’s a dream assignment. Former Senator Dorothy Gibson, aka that woman, is the most talked-about person in the country right now, though largely for the wrong reasons. As an independent candidate for President of the United States, Dorothy split the vote and is being blamed for the shocking result. After her very public defeat, she’s retreated to her home in rural Maine, inviting her ghostwriter to join her.

Her collaborator is impressed by Dorothy’s work ethic and steel-trap mind, not to mention the stunning surroundings (and one particularly gorgeous bodyguard). But when a neighbor dies under suspicious circumstances, Dorothy is determined to find the killer in their midst. And when Dorothy Gibson asks if you want to team up for a top secret, possibly dangerous murder investigation, the only answer is: “Of course!”

The best ghostwriters are adept at asking questions and spinning stories... two talents, it turns out, that also come in handy for sleuths. Dorothy’s political career, meanwhile, has made her an expert at recognizing lies and double-dealing. Working together, the two women are soon untangling motives and whittling down suspects, to the exasperation of local police. But this investigation—much like the election—may not unfold the way anyone expects...

Kemper Donovan is an acclaimed author and host of the podcast All About Agatha. A graduate of Stanford University and Harvard Law School, he worked at the literary management company Circle of Confusion for a decade before transitioning to writing full-time. He is a member of the New York Bar Association, PEN America, and Mystery Writers of America. He lives with his husband and daughters in Los Angeles and can be found online at KemperDonovan.com.

Kemper Donovan
Event Date: 
Friday, April 12, 2024 - 6:00pm EDT
Event address: 
RJ Julia Booksellers
768 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT 06443
Staff Pick Badge
The Busy Body: A Witty Literary Mystery with a Stunning Twist (A Ghostwriter Mystery #1) By Kemper Donovan Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781496744531
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: A John Scognamiglio Book - January 23rd, 2024

$27.00
SKU: s9781496744531

Familia: A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood By Lauren E. Rico Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781496744647
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: Kensington - December 26th, 2023