Shopping cart

Pride Panel: Robyn Gigl, Sara Glass, Alana Saab, and Bobby Finger in conversation with Troix Jackson

Pride in Literature: Celebrating LGBTQ+ Stories!

RESERVE YOUR SEAT TODAY!


Robyn Gigl | Sara Glass | Alana Saab | Bobby Finger
MODERATED BY TROIX JACKSON


New Jersey State Trooper Jon Mazer has been charged with killing Black investigative reporter Stewart Marshall in a racially charged, headline-making murder. The evidence against criminal defense attorney Erin McCabe’s new client is overwhelming. The gun used is Mazer’s off-duty weapon. Fingerprints and carpet fibers link Mazer to the crime. And Mazer was patrolling Marshall’s neighborhood shortly before the victim took three bullets to the chest. Mazer’s argument? He’s a gay officer being set up to take the fall in an even bigger story.

Nothing but the Truth

Mazer swears he was a secret source for Marshall’s exposé about the Lords of Discipline. The covert gang operating within the New Jersey State Police is notorious for enforcing their own code of harassing women, framing minorities, and out-powering any troopers who don’t play their rogue and racist games. With everyone from the governor to the county prosecutor on the wrong side of justice, Erin and her partner, Duane Swisher, are prepared to do anything to make sure Mazer doesn’t become another victim.

As Erin deals with an intensely personal issue at home, and faces an uphill battle to prove her client’s innocence, both she and Duane find themselves mired in a conspiracy of corruption deeper than they imagined—and far more dangerous than they feared.

Robyn Gigl (she/her) is an award-winning author, attorney, and activist. Her Erin McCabe legal thrillers have landed on Best of the Year lists at The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, CrimeReads, LAMBDA Literary, and more. Survivor’s Guilt was named a TIME Magazine Best Thrillers and Mysteries of All Time. She has been honored by the ACLU-NJ and the NJ Pride Network for her work on behalf of the LGBTQ+ community and is a member of the Board of Directors of Garden State Equality, New Jersey’s largest LGBTQ+ Civil Rights Organization. She can be found at online robyngigl.com, on X @robyngigl, and Instagram @robyngigl.

Robyn Gigl
Kissing Girls on Shabbat

A moving coming-of-age memoir in the vein of Unorthodox and Educated, about one young woman’s desperate attempt to protect her children and family while also embracing her queer identity in a controlling Hasidic community.

Growing up in the Hasidic community of Brooklyn’s Borough Park, Sara Glass knew one painful truth: what was expected of her and what she desperately wanted were impossibly opposed. Tormented by her attraction to women and trapped in a loveless arranged marriage, she found herself unable to conform to her religious upbringing and soon, she made the difficult decision to walk away from the world she knew.

Sara’s journey to self-acceptance began with the challenging battle for a divorce and custody of her children, an act that left her on the verge of estrangement from her family and community. Controlled by the fear of losing custody of her two children, she forced herself to remain loyal to the compulsory heteronormativity baked into Hasidic Judaism and married again. But after suffering profound loss and a shocking sexual assault, Sara decided to finally be completely true to herself.

Kissing Girls on Shabbat is not only a love letter to Glass’s children, herself, and her family—it is an unflinching window into the world of ultra-conservative Orthodox Jewish communities and an inspiring celebration of learning to love yourself.

Sara Glass (she/her), PhD, LCSW, is a therapist, writer, and speaker who helps members of the queer community and individuals who have survived trauma to live bold, honest, and proud lives. She lives in Manhattan, New York. Find out more at DrSaraGlass.com.

Sara Glass
Please Stop Trying to Leave Me

A debut novel about love, family, queerness, and losing your mind in the modern world marks the arrival of a truly original, haunting voice in fiction who will make you laugh, cry, and scream, all in the same breath.

In the midst of god sending her signs through Instagram and Spotify telling her to break up with her girlfriend, twenty-seven-year-old Norma meets a new therapist for one reason: she really needs to write again. With only one story left to finish her collection, Norma is desperate for an answer: should she leave her girlfriend in order to finish her manuscript?

When her new therapist diagnoses her with depersonalization/derealization disorder, Norma insists she doesn't have it: it’s just Oblivion, the thing that started happening to her when she was two and a half. Haunted by SSRI side effects, her girlfriend’s kindness, her father’s incessant calls, and a world that becomes less hazily fictional by the day, Norma has never felt crazier. And whenever she attempts to write The Last Story, Norma is faced with the reality and unrealities of her past, the society she lives in, and everything that she’s ever believed about life, writing, and love. Against the backdrop of climate change, racial injustice, Google ads, and the metaverse, Norma begins sharing other stories, hoping that they'll help her connect the dissociative dots once and for all. Maybe it's crazy not to be crazy in a place like this. And in the midst of it all is Norma's girlfriend, who may well be an answer in Norma's search for meaning.

Told alternately through Norma's barely fictional fiction and through her crackling stream of consciousness, Please Stop Trying To Leave Me is an honest, comedic, horrifying, and heart-wrenching story about existing in today’s world, challenging all we’ve been taught about the distance between fiction and reality, sanity and insanity, mental illness and healing.

Alana Saab (she/her) is a literary writer and award-winning screenwriter. She holds a Master of Fine Arts in Fiction from The New School, a Masters Degree in Psychology from Columbia University and her Bachelors from New York University in the Phenomenology of Storytelling. She lives in New York with her partner. Please Stop Trying to Leave Me is her first novel.

Alana Saab
Four Squares

From the beloved author of The Old Place comes a tender, funny, and fresh novel about a gay writer in New York City whose life is irrevocably altered, and then again thirty years later.

In 1992, on his thirtieth birthday, Artie Anderson meets the man who will change his life. Artie spends his days at a tedious advertising job, finding relief in the corner of New York City he can call his own, even as the queer community is still being ravaged by HIV. But when his birthday celebration brings Artie and his friends to his favorite bar, a chance encounter with Abe, an uptight lawyer and Artie’s opposite in almost every way, pushes Artie to want, and to ask for, more for himself.

Thirty years later, Artie is stunned when Halle and Vanessa, Abe’s daughter and ex-wife, announce they are moving across the country. Artie has built a lovely, if small, life, but their departure makes Artie realize that he might be lonelier than he previously thought. When a surprising injury pushes Artie into the hands of GALS, the local center for queer seniors, a rambunctious group of elders insist on taking him under their wing.

Alternating between both timelines, Four Squares is an intimate look at what it means to find community at any age. With humor and compassion, it honors the enduring power of queer friendship, its history, and how essential it is to keep those stories alive.

Bobby Finger (he/him) is the author of The Old Place, and cohost of the popular celebrity and entertainment podcast, Who? Weekly. A Texas native, he lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Bobby Finger

Troix Jackson (she/her) is an editorial assistant at Forge Books. She has editorial experience spanning nearly every genre, from sizzling contemporary thrillers to entrancing fantasies and everything in between. If she isn't reading, you can find her scouring plant shops for new additions to her budding home forest or marathoning classic horror movies.

RESERVE YOUR SEAT TODAY!

Can’t make it to the event? Purchase signed and personalized copy of Nothing but the Truth, Kissing Girls on Shabbat, Please Stop Trying to Leave Me, or Four Squares.

Event Date: 
Thursday, June 27, 2024 - 6:30pm EDT
Event address: 
RJ Julia Booksellers
768 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT 06443
Pre-Order Now Badge
Nothing but the Truth (An Erin McCabe Legal Thriller #4) By Robyn Gigl Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781496741790
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Kensington - June 25th, 2024

$28.00
SKU: s9781496741790

Kissing Girls on Shabbat: A Memoir By Sara Glass Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668031216
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: Atria/One Signal Publishers - June 11th, 2024

$27.99
SKU: s9781668031216

Pre-Order Now Badge
Please Stop Trying to Leave Me: A Novel By Alana Saab Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593686782
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Vintage - June 25th, 2024

$18.00
SKU: s9780593686782

Pre-Order Now Badge
Four Squares By Bobby Finger Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593713556
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 18th, 2024

$29.00
SKU: s9780593713556