Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Virtual: Anna Solomon, "Book of V"

Join RJ Julia Booksellers for this free virtual event.

Purchase your copy of The Book of V. on or before May 11, 2020 and receive a bookplate signed by author Anna Solomon.

Book of VFor readers of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries.

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

In The Book of V., these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years.

SolomonAnna Solomon is the author of Leaving Lucy Pear and The Little Bride and a two-time winner of the Pushcart Prize. Her short fiction and essays have appeared in publications including The New York Times Magazine, One Story, Ploughshares, Slate, and more. Coeditor with Eleanor Henderson of Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today’s Best Women Writers, Solomon was born and raised in Gloucester, Massachusetts, and lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two children.

Please register to "attend"

Registered attendees will be provided with a link to the virtual meeting.

Event Date: 
Monday, May 11, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
The Book of V.: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250257017
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - May 5th, 2020