Virtual: Archer Mayor & Friends with the Durham Public Library

Join RJ Julia and the Durham Public Library for a night with Archer Mayor,

Paula Munier, Julia Spencer-Fleming, and Sarah Stewart Taylor

moderated by Kim McNally

Durham Public Library

Please click here to register to attend.

Signed bookplates available while supplies last for each title below.


The Orphan's GuiltA simple drunk driving arrest snowballs into a homicide investigation, as Joe Gunther and his VBI team peel back layer upon layer of history to learn the long-hidden truth

John Rust is arrested for drunk driving at a routine stop by a Vermont state trooper. Looking to find mitigating circumstances, his lawyer hires a private eye to look into the recent death of the driver's younger brother. The brother died at twenty-eight due to medical issues arising from a childhood brain injury. But then it's revealed that the brain injury was the result of shaken baby syndrome, rendering his death a murder—bringing in Joe Gunther and his Vermont Bureau of Investigation team.

But that murder quickly becomes more than an ancient tale of avarice, betrayal, and murder as the vengeful memories of parties unknown are stirred to the point of violence. As the original subject, John Rust, disappears, Joe Gunther and his team must peel back the layers of history as the killings of the past lead quickly to the same in the present.

Archer Mayor, in addition to writing the New York Times bestselling Joe Gunther series, is a death investigator for the state medical examiner and has twenty-five years of experience as a firefighter/EMT. He lives near Brattleboro, Vermont.


Blind SearchFormer Army MP Mercy Carr and her retired bomb-sniffing dog Elvis are back in Blind Search, the sequel to the page-turning, critically acclaimed A Borrowing of Bones.

It’s October, hunting season in the Green Mountains—and the Vermont wilderness has never been more beautiful or more dangerous. Especially for nine-year-old Henry, who’s lost in the woods. Again. Only this time he sees something terrible. When a young woman is found shot through the heart with a fatal arrow, Mercy thinks that something is murder. But Henry, a math genius whose autism often silences him when he should speak up most, is not talking.

Now there’s a murderer hiding among the hunters in the forest—and Mercy and Elvis must team up with their crime-solving friends, game warden Troy Warner and search-and-rescue dog Susie Bear, to find the killer—before the killer finds Henry. When an early season blizzard hits the mountains, cutting them off from the rest of the world, the race is on to solve the crime, apprehend the murderer, and keep the boy safe until the snowplows get through.

Inspired by the true search-and-rescue case of an autistic boy who got lost in the Vermont wilderness, Paula Munier's mystery is a compelling roller coaster ride through the worst of a surprise blizzard—and human nature.

Paula Munier is the author of the bestselling Plot Perfect, The Writer’s Guide to Beginnings, Writing with Quiet Hands, and Fixing Freddie: A True Story of a Boy, a Mom, and a Very, Very Bad Beagle. She was inspired to write A Borrowing of Bones, the first Mercy and Elvis mystery, by the hero working dogs she met through MissionK9Rescue, her own Newfoundland retriever mix rescue Bear, and a lifelong passion for crime fiction. She lives in New Hampshire with her family, Bear, and a torbie tabby named Ursula. 


Hid from our eyes1952. Millers Kill Police Chief Harry McNeil is called to a crime scene where a woman in a party dress has been murdered with no obvious cause of death.

1972. Millers Kill Police Chief Jack Liddle is called to a murder scene of a woman that's very similar to one he worked as a trooper in the 50s. The only difference is this time, they have a suspect. Young Vietnam War veteran Russ van Alstyne found the body while riding his motorcycle and is quickly pegged as the prime focus of the investigation.

Present-day. Millers Kill Police Chief Russ van Alstyne gets a 911 call that a young woman has been found dead in a party dress, the same MO as the crime he was accused of in the 70s. The pressure is on for Russ to solve the murder before he's removed from the case.

Russ will enlist the help of his police squad and Reverend Clare Fergusson, who is already juggling the tasks of being a new mother to her and Russ's baby and running St. Alban's Church, to finally solve these crimes.

Julia Spencer-Fleming is the New York Times bestselling author of One Was A Soldier, and an Agatha, Anthony, Dilys, Barry, Macavity, and Gumshoe Award winner. She studied acting and history at Ithaca College and received her J.D. at the University of Maine School of Law. Her books have been shortlisted for the Edgar, Nero Wolfe, and Romantic Times RC awards. Julia lives in a 190-year-old farmhouse in southern Maine. 


The Mountains WildIn a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

Sarah Stewart Taylor is the author of the Sweeney St. George series and the Maggie D'arcy series. Taylor grew up on Long Island in New York and was educated at Middlebury College in Vermont and Trinity College in Dublin. She lived in Dublin, Ireland in the mid-90s and she now lives with her family on a farm in Vermont where they raise sheep and grow blueberries. 

Please click here to register to attend.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, November 10, 2020 - 7:00pm EST
Event address: 
The Orphan's Guilt: A Joe Gunther Novel (Joe Gunther Series #31) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250224149
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - September 29th, 2020

Blind Search: A Mercy Carr Mystery Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250766373
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - October 27th, 2020

Hid from Our Eyes: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery (Fergusson/Van Alstyne Mysteries #9) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780312606855
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - April 7th, 2020

The Mountains Wild: A Mystery Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250256430
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 23rd, 2020