Shopping cart

Virtual: Jewish History Month Panel with Rebecca Podos, Katie Locke, Ava Reid, Aden Polydoros, and Allison Saft

Join Us For a Young Adult Author Panel

Focusing on Jewish History

Featuring Rebecca Podos, Katie Locke, Ava Reid, Aden Polydoros, and Allison Saft

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

The City BeautifulDavid Levithan meets Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All in this haunting standalone historical fantasy that follows a young, queer Jewish immigrant who is possessed by the evil spirit of his murdered best friend and is catapulted into a deadly hunt for a serial killer terrorizing Chicago during the World's Fair of 1893.

"An achingly rendered exploration of queer desire, grief, and the inexorable scars of the past." —Katy Rose Pool, author of There Will Come A Darkness

Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical fantasy about a city, a boy, and the shadows of the past that bind them both together.

Chicago, 1893. For Alter Rosen, this is the land of opportunity, and he dreams of the day he’ll have enough money to bring his mother and sisters to America, freeing them from the oppression they face in his native Romania.

But when Alter’s best friend, Yakov, becomes the latest victim in a long line of murdered Jewish boys, his dream begins to slip away. While the rest of the cit/y is busy celebrating the World’s Fair, Alter is now living a nightmare: possessed by Yakov’s dybbuk, he is plunged into a world of corruption and deceit, and thrown back into the arms of a dangerous boy from his past. A boy who means more to Alter than anyone knows.

Now, with only days to spare until the dybbuk takes over Alter’s body completely, the two boys must race to track down the killer—before the killer claims them next.Aden Polydoros

Aden Polydoros is an author of YA dark fantasy and gothic horror novels, and has a bachelor's degree in English from Northern Arizona University. His most recent novel, THE CITY BEAUTIFUL, was declared a Best YA Book of 2021 by New York Public Library, BookPage, Buzzfeed, and Tor.com, and was the winner of the 2022 Sydney Taylor Book Award for Young Adult fiction. His forthcoming gothic fantasy novel, BONE WEAVER, comes out in September 2022 from Inkyard Press/HarperCollins.


The Wolf and the WoodsmanIn the vein of Naomi Novik’s New York Times bestseller Spinning Silver and Katherine Arden’s national bestseller The Bear and the Nightingale, this unforgettable debut—inspired by Hungarian history and Jewish mythology—follows a young pagan woman with hidden powers and a one-eyed captain of the Woodsmen as they form an unlikely alliance to thwart a tyrant.

In her forest-veiled pagan village, Évike is the only woman without power, making her an outcast clearly abandoned by the gods. The villagers blame her corrupted bloodline—her father was a Yehuli man, one of the much-loathed servants of the fanatical king. When soldiers arrive from the Holy Order of Woodsmen to claim a pagan girl for the king’s blood sacrifice, Évike is betrayed by her fellow villagers and surrendered.

But when monsters attack the Woodsmen and their captive en route, slaughtering everyone but Évike and the cold, one-eyed captain, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he’s no ordinary Woodsman—he’s the disgraced prince, Gáspár Bárány, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. Gáspár fears that his cruelly zealous brother plans to seize the throne and instigate a violent reign that would damn the pagans and the Yehuli alike. As the son of a reviled foreign queen, Gáspár understands what it’s like to be an outcast, and he and Évike make a tenuous pact to stop his brother.

As their mission takes them from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, their mutual loathing slowly turns to affection, bound by a shared history of alienation and oppression. However, trust can easily turn to betrayal, and as Évike reconnects with her estranged father and discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gáspár need to decide whose side they’re on, and what they’re willing to give up for a nation that never cared for them at all.Ava Reid

Ava Reid is the Indie Bestselling and International Bestselling author of The Wolf and the Woodsman (out now), Juniper & Thorn (2022), and A Study in Drowning (2023). She was born in Manhattan and raised right across the river in Hoboken, New Jersey, but currently lives in Palo Alto. She has a degree in political science from Barnard College, focusing on religion and ethnic nationalism.


From Dust , a FlameLambda Literary Award–-winning author Rebecca Podos returns with a rich, transporting, genre-bending contemporary Jewish fantasy about the power of history, the complicated nature of family, and the search for identity amidst it all.

Hannah’s whole life has been spent in motion. Her mother has kept her and her brother, Gabe, on the road for as long as she can remember, leaving a trail of rental homes and faded relationships behind them. No roots, no family but one another, and no explanations.

All that changes on Hannah’s seventeenth birthday when she wakes up transformed, a pair of golden eyes with knife-slit pupils blinking back at her from the mirror—the first of many such impossible mutations. Promising that she knows someone who can help, her mother leaves Hannah and Gabe behind to find a cure. But as the days turn to weeks and their mother doesn’t return, they realize it’s up to them to find the truth.

What they discover is a family they never knew and a history more tragic and fantastical than Hannah could have dreamed—one that stretches back to her grandmother’s childhood in Prague under the Nazi occupation, and beyond, into the realm of Jewish mysticism and legend. As the past comes crashing into the present, Hannah must hurry to unearth their family’s secrets in order to break the curse and save the people she loves most, as well as herself.

Rebecca Podos, award-winning author of Like Water, returns with a contemporary fantasy of enduring love, unfathomable loss, and the power of stories to hold us together when it seems that nothing else can.Rebecca Podos

Rebecca Podos' debut novel, THE MYSTERY OF HOLLOW PLACES (Balzer + Bray), was a Junior Library Guild Selection and a B&N Best YA Book of 2016. Her second book, LIKE WATER (Balzer + Bray), won the 2018 Lambda Literary Award for LGBTQ Children's and Young Adult. Her latest releases are FOOLS IN LOVE (Running Press Kids), a co-edited YA anthology with Ashley Herring Blake, and the YA fantasy novel FROM DUST, A FLAME (Balzer + Bray). An agent at the Rees Literary Agency in Boston, she can be found on her website, rebeccapodos.com.


This Rebel HeartA tumultuous tale of the student-led 1956 Hungarian revolution—and an all too timely look at the impact of Communism and the USSR in Eastern Europe—set in a fabulist, colorless post-WWII Budapest from Sydney Taylor Honor winner Katherine Locke.

In the middle of Budapest, there is a river. Csilla knows the river is magic. During WWII, the river kept her family safe when they needed it most--safe from the Holocaust. But that was before the Communists seized power. Before her parents were murdered by the Soviet police. Before Csilla knew things about her father's legacy that she wishes she could forget.

Now Csilla keeps her head down, planning her escape from this country that has never loved her the way she loves it. But her carefully laid plans fall to pieces when her parents are unexpectedly, publicly exonerated. As the protests in other countries spur talk of a larger revolution in Hungary, Csilla must decide if she believes in the promise and magic of her deeply flawed country enough to risk her life to help save it, or if she should let it burn to the ground.

With queer representation, fabulist elements, and a pivotal but little-known historical moment, This Rebel Heart is Katherine Locke's tour de force.

Katherine Locke (they/them) is the author of The Girl with the Red Balloon, a 2018 Sydney Taylor Honor Book and 2018 Carolyn W. Field Honor Book, as well as The Spy with the Red Balloon. They are the co-editor and contributor to It's A Whole Spiel: Love, Latkes and Other Jewish Stories, a contributor to Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens and Out Now: Queer We Go Again, and co-editor of This Is Our Rainbow: 16 Stories of Her, Him, Them, and Us. They are also the author of the picture books Bedtime for Superheroes and How to Be Friends with a Dragon. They can be found online at KatherineLockeBooks.com and @bibliogato on Twitter and Instagram.


A Far Wider MagicA romantic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Erin A. Craig and Margaret Rogerson, about two people who find themselves competing for glory—and each other's hearts—in a magical fox hunt.

When Margaret Welty spots the legendary hala, the last living mythical creature, she knows the Halfmoon Hunt will soon follow. Whoever is able to kill the hala will earn fame and riches, and unlock an ancient magical secret. While Margaret is the best sharpshooter in town, only teams of two can register, and she needs an alchemist.

Weston Winters isn’t an alchemist—yet. He's been fired from every apprenticeship he's landed, and his last chance hinges on Master Welty taking him in. But when Wes arrives at Welty Manor, he finds only Margaret. She begrudgingly allows him to stay, but on one condition: he must join the hunt with her.

Although they make an unlikely team, they soon find themselves drawn to each other. As the hunt looms closer and tensions rise, Margaret and Wes uncover dark magic that could be the key to winning the hunt—if they survive that long.

In A Far Wilder Magic, Allison Saft has written an achingly tender love storyAllison Saft set against a deadly hunt in an atmospheric, rich fantasy world that will sweep you away.

Allison Saft is the New York Times and indie bestselling author of eerie romantic fantasies, Down Comes the Night and A Far Wilder Magic. After receiving her MA in English Literature from Tulane University, she moved from the Gulf Coast to the West Coast, where she spends her time hiking the redwoods and practicing aerial silks.

 

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

A ZOOM LINK WILL BE EMAILED TO REGISTERED ATTENDEES ON THE DAY OF THE EVENT

Event Date: 
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - 7:00pm EDT
Event address: 
The City Beautiful Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335402509
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Inkyard Press - October 5th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Wolf and the Woodsman: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062973139
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: Harper Voyager - February 8th, 2022

From Dust, a Flame Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062699060
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 8th, 2022

This Rebel Heart Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593381243
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 5th, 2022

A Far Wilder Magic Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250623652
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: Wednesday Books - March 8th, 2022

$0.00
SKU: supportevents
$
Minimum: $5.00