Holiday Selections 2020: Kids


HOLIDAY SELECTIONS: KIDS


 

Staff Pick Badge
Latkes, Latkes, Good to Eat Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780358395423
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

How I would love to have my plate overflowing with latkes! This beautiful board book illustrates the importance of kindness and family in trying times. A perfect baby gift for the Chanukah season!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Woodland Dreams Cover Image
By Karen Jameson, Marc Boutavant (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452170633
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - October 27th, 2020

This is a picture book that will stick with me for years to come. These unbelievably charming illustrations will draw you in and the lyrical text will lull you to sleep. Follow a young girl as she guides these majestic woodland animals back to their beds and into their dreams.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Ocean Book: Explore the Hidden Depth of Our Blue Planet Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781788682374
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Lonely Planet - September 15th, 2020

From sponges to seaweed to currents, this book gives kids an overlook into what covers 70% of Earth's surface: oceans! There is a new fact on every page that will have your science loving kid reading for hours. Find out how far the deepest point in the ocean reaches, how volcanoes interact with ocean water, and what exactly echinoderms are!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
How Super Cool Tech Works Cover Image
By DK
$19.99
ISBN: 9780744020298
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: DK Children - September 1st, 2020

Do you ever wonder how a 3-D printer actually works? Or what an Elliptigo is? Explore the world of the present and venture into the future with this incredible in depth look at the world of technology. From X-Box to life saving tech, this is a perfect gift for the inventor in your life!   

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Space Maps: Your Tour of the Universe Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781912920563
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: What on Earth Books - September 8th, 2020

This supersized book of space will be the highlight of the holiday season! Explore each planet and their moons, the constellations we can see, and the galaxies we cannot. Engaging illustrations and engrossing fact will make this THE book for your future astronaut! 

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Hello Hello Cover Image
By Brendan Wenzel (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781797202655
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - August 25th, 2020

Charming and fun to read aloud, this book is also a bright and clever introduction to many animals and all their amazing characteristics.  Made of both similarities and differences, these animals are all important parts of the world in which we live, so let's say Hello Hello to them!   

— Kelly


Staff Pick Badge
Simon and the Bear: A Hanukkah Tale Cover Image
By Eric A. Kimmel, Matthew Trueman (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368041751
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2020

A heartwarming tale of shipwreck and adventure? An exciting saga of kindness and miracles? These things don’t seem to go together, but somehow Eric Kimmel, author of Hershel and the Hanukkah Goblins, has pulled all of the above together into an enchanting new Hanukkah story.

— Laura


Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance Games Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368052405
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Deliciously twisty, I devoured this Knives Out-style mystery. A Connecticut girl with plenty of attitude is the lucky recipient of a vast fortune (could happen to any of us!) and everyone wants to know why. I loved the layered puzzles, the handsome grandsons, and the very mysterious Tobias.  Lots of fun and well done.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

With pictures by renowned illustrator Jon Klassen, this family read aloud is on its way to becoming a classic. Two animals, with all too human traits, work out their partnership with the help of a roomful of chickens, a suspicious stoat, and a timely telegram from Aunt Lula. I can’t wait for book two!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Legendborn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

Legendborn is easily my favorite read of the year. From its clever, persistent lead to the masterful worldbuilding, this book sucked me in and kept me hanging on every word until the end. King Arthur, magic, mystery, romance, and a celebration of Black culture, this book is one of the best books of the year. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare!

— Bridey

If you only read one fantasy this year, this is it! Interweaving America’s racial history with the Arthurian legend, Deonn creates a magical world set right in the middle of a college campus. I loved Briana who is smart and determined. Her mother’s untimely death set events in motion that threaten to reveal ancient secrets. This is a page turner right up to the last page. 

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: jimmy patterson - October 5th, 2020

“The fight is won before you get in the ring”—words of wisdom abound as I learned what it took for Ali to become a great sports hero. Patterson and Alexander are the perfect writers to make this biography compulsively readable and absorbing. I love this book; it’s the best biography for middle grade I’ve ever read.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Explorer's Code Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250258854
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Imprint - September 29th, 2020

Anna is my kind of girl with her love of explorers and how she sees mystery and adventure around every corner. I also found Charlie so relatable with his love of books, codes and ciphers, and Emily too, with her love of history. Having the three of them trying to solve the secret of Idlewood Manor without knowing the others too added so much tension! And oh what a discovery they make at the end! Love it!

— Susan


Staff Pick Badge
Christmas Parade Cover Image
By Sandra Boynton, Sandra Boynton (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534478060
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Little Simon - September 15th, 2020

I love everything about Sandra Boynton’s books! From the colorful art to adorable animal illustrations. From piggies to Santa Rhino, to duck carolers—every page a happy delight. My grandson loved it as much as I did.

— Carlene


Staff Pick Badge
Bye, Penguin! Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140213
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Levine Querido - October 27th, 2020

Join a young penguin as he is inadvertently set adrift around the world in this humorous, wordless, gentle ode to helping others with a nod to global warming.

— Jamie


Pre-Order Now Badge
The History of the World in Comics Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780823445783
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Holiday House - December 1st, 2020

This wonderful graphic novel is loaded with scientific facts, told in an easy format. Engaging, with plenty to look at on each page, I don't remember ever reading a science book and giggling; share the fun with a favorite child on your list!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Hard Wired Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681190372
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - July 7th, 2020

Taking the reins from Isaac Asimov, Vlahos propels us forward to current day science while asking the sometimes humorous, sometimes painful questions that explore what it means to be truly human. An essential new addition to the sci-fi genre, a rare thought provoking page turner gem I highly recommend.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Traitor: A Novel of World War II Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374313524
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - August 25th, 2020

Traitor is told in the alternating point-of-views of two soldiers caught in the messy fighting between Poland, Ukraine, and Russia, where mixed blood can seal your fate. A rare gem in YA historical fiction, with crossover appeal to adults.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Super Good Baking for Kids Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9780062349811
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 29th, 2020

This fun, vibrant, digestible (no pun intended) recipe book is the perfect find for aspiring bakers near and far, young and old! The recipes are easy to understand and follow, the photography practically mouthwatering, and fun facts are scattered throughout. The holiday baking season will be more colorful and delicious with this book in your repertoire. 

— Jolie


Staff Pick Badge
Atlas of Record-Breaking Adventures: A collection of the BIGGEST, FASTEST, LONGEST, HOTTEST, TOUGHEST, TALLEST and MOST DEADLY things from around the world Cover Image
By Lucy Letherland (Illustrator), Emily Hawkins
$35.00
ISBN: 9780711255654
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - October 6th, 2020

This world atlas may be bigger than my head, but every piece of information made me smarter! With beautiful illustrations and jaw-dropping facts, this atlas takes you around the world from the deepest underground city to the longest-erupting volcano, and everything in between. Intrigued? Take a look and open the book!

— Jolie


Staff Pick Badge
This Poem Is a Nest Cover Image
By Irene Latham, Johanna Wright (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781684373635
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Wordsong - September 29th, 2020

An interactive poetry book! Unlock the art of making a poem by using 'found' words in the first poems. Enjoy Latham's short and captivating poems that have been 'found,' then make your own!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Natalie Portman's Fables Cover Image
By Natalie Portman, Janna Mattia (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250246868
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 20th, 2020

Three tales our parents could probably recite to us in their sleep have been spun anew and brought forward into the newest century. With wit and kindness, Natalie has adapted old favorites for both children and parents alike. You will laugh and learn as you read these new bedtime stories to your own children, who will certainly pass them down for generations.

— Terri


Staff Pick Badge
Archipop Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780764360343
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Schiffer Kids - October 28th, 2020

This is the gift of my dreams: vibrant pieces to build with in countless configurations, with a brilliant book to help any budding architect get started creating! Buildings, bridges, vehicles, and sculptures can all be assembled over and over!

— Kelly


Staff Pick Badge
5 More Sleeps ‘til Christmas Cover Image
By Jimmy Fallon, Rich Deas (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250266477
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 27th, 2020