Shopping cart

Black History Month Bundle


"I think reading all four of these books is so important! Buy this Black History Month book bundle and Passing by Nella Larsen will be a gift from us!"   

— Roxanne

Click here to add the bundle to your cart. To purchase individual titles, simply click on the book cover.

Receive a complimentary copy of Nella Larson's Passing

when you purchase this Black History Month book bundle

An epic biography of Malcolm X finally emerges in The Dead Are Arising, drawing on hundreds of hours of the author’s interviews, rewriting much of the known narrative.

A national bestseller when it first appeared in 1963, The Fire Next Time galvanized the nation, gave passionate voice to the emerging civil rights movement—and still lights the way to understanding race in America today.

A “brave and brilliant” (The Philadelphia Inquirer) portrait of lives arriving at different destinies, the classic John Edgar Wideman memoir, Brothers and Keepers, is a haunting portrait of two brothers—one an award-winning writer, the other a fugitive wanted for a robbery that resulted in a murder.


Two women in 1920's New York discover how fluid and dangerous our perceptions of race can be in this electrifying classic of the Harlem Renaissance—with an introduction by Kaitlyn Greenidge, author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman, finalist for the 2016 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize.

In this psychologically gripping and chilling novel, Nella Larsen explores the blurriness of race, sacrifice, alienation, and desire that defined her own experience as a woman of mixed race, issues that still powerfully resonate today. Ultimately, Larsen forces us to consider whether we can ever truly choose who we are. 

Nella Larsen (1891–1964) was the author of several short stories and two novels, Quicksand and Passing. She received a Guggenheim Fellowship to write a third novel in 1930 but, unable to find a publisher for it, she disappeared from the literary scene and worked as a nurse in New York City.