Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Suggestions — Kids 10+ Years

Staff Pick Badge
This Was Our Pact Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626720534
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - June 11th, 2019

Wow this story is intense! Filled with science facts, fantasy, and a perfectly pitched not-friendship, I loved this graphic novel!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality Cover Image
By David Roberts, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781536208412
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walker Books US - October 8th, 2019

A thoroughly researched history of the suffragettes of America and England. David Roberts puts his passion for this subject into every paragraph and illustration. Each chapter delves into an important aspect of the women’s right to vote, from protests, to political figures, to the design of the flags. A great book for middle graders to explore what lengths women had to go to to ensure their voice was heard.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Oracle Code Cover Image
By Marieke Nijkamp, Manuel Preitano (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401290665
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DC Comics - March 10th, 2020

An iconic graphic novel from a beloved DC character, Nijkamp delivers an unforgettable origin story. It does a phenomenal job examining the realities disabled individuals experience while also presenting a classic mystery sure to delight fans of DC comics and realistic fiction. With plenty of comic easter eggs laced throughout, The Oracle Code is simply a triumph.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358003199
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

Get ready! Once you start this mystery adventure you won’t want to go to school or go to practice or do your homework. You won’t want to do anything except hide away and read this thrilling, quick-paced book until you’re done. That’s pretty much I how felt. With likeable, well developed characters and plenty humor, this is one of the BEST adventure stories I’ve ever read.

— Susan

 

 

I really did love this book! What sets apart this tale of a missing heir, an orphaned girl, and a mysterious key is the heart and soul of the characters. April is my new favorite self-reliant girl who joins four other savvy orphans to solve the mystery and save their new-found home. The suspenseful, fast-paced plot is paired with hilarious asides to the reader, perfectly balancing the storytelling. I look forward to more tales of the orphans at Winterborne House. 

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Black Brother, Black Brother Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493802
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

So inspiring! This emotionally charged book clearly shows the frustration of racism, and how we can either let it define us or we can take it on. Fencers will love this book about their sport, but any athlete will see themselves in Donte’s struggles and recognize the larger truth: reach for your dream; you can do anything through training and hard work

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399187353
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

Landing in 1980's Harlem feels like landing on an alien planet for an all-things-space-loving girl from Alabama. Sometimes, if you feel so far out of touch with everyday life, only outerspace will do. But with the support of family and a few could-be-friends, Ebony Grace just may figure out a way to be true to herself and to fit in when she needs to. I highly recommend this imaginative, engaging novel!

— Laura


Staff Pick Badge
Martin Rising: Requiem For a King Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780545702539
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - January 2nd, 2018

Martin Rising is a beautiful poem and tribute to the prophetic life of Martin Luther King Jr. In such a graceful way it both educated me and made me feel connected emotionally to the last months of MLK's life; from learning about his family and friendships, his last supper, the weather the days of the marches to the immense sense of hope he delivered! A must have for every school and home library!

— Tonya


Staff Pick Badge
Brave the Page Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780451480293
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

For all you storytellers out there this is THE book that will help take your story from start to finish. With tools and tricks designed to hone your writing skills, Brave the Page will have you on the right path to becoming a fabulous author!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Normal: One Kid's Extraordinary Journey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328631831
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 14th, 2020

What’s “normal” is different for everyone. This book brings a perspective of what this means for one incredible family. Nathaniel and his mother co-wrote this unique memoir about what is normal for them, in the life of a boy with a severe cranial facial condition and his family. Nathaniel tells his story with, humor, and heart! Great next pic for fans of “Wonder!"

— Tonya


Staff Pick Badge
Drawing: The Only Drawing Book You'll Ever Need to Be the Artist You've Always Wanted to Be (Art for Kids #1) Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781402784774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sterling Children's Books - April 1st, 2014

Everything a young artist needs to know to develop their eye and creativity, plus easy to follow steps for laying the foundation for their own masterpieces.

— Ethan


Staff Pick Badge
Stargazing Cover Image
By Jen Wang, Jen Wang (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250183880
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - September 10th, 2019

Another wonderful addition to an excellent collection of graphic novels, this one with two girls who are friends despite their differences. They are interesting and unique characters and I like how each deals with their own issues, and how their friendship weathers typical middlegrade ups and downs. Perfect for fans of Real FriendsThe Baby-sitter’s Club, and all of Raina Telgemeier.

— Jamie