Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Suggestions — Kids 10+ Years

Staff Pick Badge
Brave the Page Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780451480293
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

For all you storytellers out there this is THE book that will help take your story from start to finish. With tools and tricks designed to hone your writing skills, Brave the Page will have you on the right path to becoming a fabulous author!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Normal: One Kid's Extraordinary Journey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328631831
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 14th, 2020

What’s “normal” is different for everyone. This book brings a perspective of what this means for one incredible family. Nathaniel and his mother co-wrote this unique memoir about what is normal for them, in the life of a boy with a severe cranial facial condition and his family. Nathaniel tells his story with, humor, and heart! Great next pic for fans of “Wonder!"

— Tonya


Staff Pick Badge
Drawing: The Only Drawing Book You'll Ever Need to Be the Artist You've Always Wanted to Be (Art for Kids #1) Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781402784774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sterling Children's Books - April 1st, 2014

Everything a young artist needs to know to develop their eye and creativity, plus easy to follow steps for laying the foundation for their own masterpieces.

— Ethan


Staff Pick Badge
Stargazing Cover Image
By Jen Wang, Jen Wang (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250183880
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - September 10th, 2019

Another wonderful addition to an excellent collection of graphic novels, this one with two girls who are friends despite their differences. They are interesting and unique characters and I like how each deals with their own issues, and how their friendship weathers typical middlegrade ups and downs. Perfect for fans of Real FriendsThe Baby-sitter’s Club, and all of Raina Telgemeier.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Sherlock Holmes Escape Book: The Adventure of the London Waterworks: Solve the Puzzles to Escape the Pages Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781781453483
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ammonite Press - October 1st, 2019

This is an escape room in the form of a book. Each puzzle you solve may determine the path you take in the book; wrong answers may have unforeseen consequences! Beware of getting trapped in these pages forever! Wonderful fun for the Sherlock Holmes in you.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Vegetarian Cookbook: More than 50 Recipes for Young Cooks Cover Image
By DK
$16.99
ISBN: 9781465489654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DK Children - December 31st, 2019

The Vegetarian Sausages were a hit at our party - with both vegans and meat-eaters! A fantastic book: simple, current, and delicious food for young cooks.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Infinite Hope: A Black Artist's Journey from World War II to Peace Cover Image
By Ashley Bryan, Ashley Bryan (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781534404908
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 15th, 2019

I am flabbergasted that I have gone 24 years without learning about Ashley Bryan. From his early art college days to deploying to Omaha Beach, Bryan kept his art close. He has interwoven his original artwork and letters into his fascinating life story. A wonderful book that explores the importance of art and passion during wartime.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Alexander Nabaum (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481438285
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 8th, 2019

Extraordinary! Look Both Ways invites the reader to see both their perspective and anothers’. The collection of interconnected short stories, with shared characters and setting, is brilliantly woven while allowing each short story to stand thoughtfully on its own. Jason Reynolds is one of the finest children’s authors right now, writing both middle grade and young adult. Don’t miss this one!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Tyrant's Tomb (The Trials of Apollo, Book Four) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781484746448
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 24th, 2019

It's here! It's finally here! I have loved the world Rick Riordan created since I was 12 years old. Apollo and Meg must travel to Camp Jupiter to save Jason in the newest installment of the Trials of Apollo series. Reading about the famed God Apollo walking around as a gawky teenager makes me uncontrollably laugh. We have signed copies while supplies last! 

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780525645535
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

In this immersive story, Palacio transported me back in time to France, during the occupation, where I met Julian’s grandmere—Sara—and witnessed bravery, kindness and compassion. Because it’s a graphic novel (which Palacio illustrated!), it played like a movie and I was right beside Sara while she hid from the Germans. Be sure to read the information at the end that expands on World War II.

— Susan