Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Suggestions — Kids 10+ Years

Staff Pick Badge
Just Like That Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544084773
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Clarion Books - January 5th, 2021

A profoundly moving story, Just Like That follows two kids, who are both in precarious positions. One is dealing with the loss of a friend and the other has criminals following his every move. Meryl and Matt both must confront the demons that they live with while finding out who they are in the process. I loved how the humorous moments balanced out the more serious ones in this new book set in the world of Schmidt’s previous novels, The Wednesday Wars and Okay For Now.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Oh My Gods! (OMGs) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780358299523
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Etch/HMH Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

If you love Greek mythology like I do, then you can understand my excitement around this book! A girl who moves to Greece and attends a school full of gods and goddesses? This is my kind of book. The graphic novel format is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and All's Faire in Middle School

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Ickabog Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781338732870
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - November 10th, 2020

This is the kind of story that could begin with Once Upon a Time… It is a tale of a vain king, wicked advisors, and a boy and a girl who must eventually come together to restore the kingdom. Once again Rowling creates a vivid world and a wonderful mysterious creature to ignite our imaginations.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Beast and the Bethany Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534478893
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Aladdin - December 8th, 2020

This story is as wickedly delightful as a Roald Dahl story. The unlikely friendship gives it depth and kept me wondering about Bethany’s fate. Clever and well-crafted.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Anatomicum: Welcome to the Museum Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781536215069
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Big Picture Press - September 10th, 2020

If you have ever wondered about the human body, this is THE book for you. Intricate detailed illustrations paired with anatomical knowledge that is easy to understand makes this the ideal gift for a young science fan in your life.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Guardians of Liberty: Freedom of the Press and the Nature of News Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419736896
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

This thoroughly researched look into freedom of the press is a perfect pick for those who cannot get enough of US history. Osborne provides a glance into how the press has played a pivotal role in the forming and growth of this country. I especially love that the end of the book has notes and a bibliography for its sources.  

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Dress Coded Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984816436
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

In what is a very timely topic, Dress Coded explores some of the hypocrisy and challenges that come with having enforced dress policies in schools. I particularly love the way Molly takes to a podcast to stand up for herself and others around her. The sense of community this book puts out made me feel proud and in awe of the strengths of these characters. What a wonderful addition to our 10+ book shelf!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Prairie Lotus Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328781505
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Clarion Books - March 3rd, 2020

This book stands on its own as a well-written adventure of a girl starting over in the 1880’s Dakota Territory, but it is also a perfect companion read for The Little House on the Prairie Books. Award-winning Korean American author, Linda Sue Park, has revisited the setting of the books she loved as a child with a greater understanding of the problems that were a part of westward expansion. Entirely age-appropriate and a great entry point into discussions of our complicated history.

— Laura


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl and the Witch's Garden Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534461581
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 23rd, 2020

Such silky smooth writing makes this tale of magical realism irresistible and bewitching right from the first page. In fact, I dare you to try putting it down once you’ve picked it up. Erin Bowman has a compelling voice that helps carry the reader through the heavier, more challenging moments, but I do suggest for ages 10+. For fans of Ally Carter’s Winterborne Home

— Susan


Staff Pick Badge
Doodleville Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894717
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

What an incredibly imaginative, and sometimes dark, story about a bunch of doodles that come to life! Have a pen and paper handy—I wanted to explore where I would have my doodles live, and I really wanted to create the perfect dark nemesis. Acknowledging the sometimes surprisingly strong and dark feelings teens can have is a great first step toward understanding those feelings and how to deal with them. So much to love about this book!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Nat Enough (Nat Enough #1) Cover Image
By Maria Scrivan, Maria Scrivan (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338538199
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Graphix - April 7th, 2020

Hilarious, heartwarming, and charming, I just wanted Natalie to find out what makes her special, and she does! Her old best friend, alarmingly mean, also sees her in a new way at the end, with plenty of laughs in between. A great read about friendships for middle schoolers!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Becoming Brianna (Emmie & Friends) Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062894533
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

Doing something to make your parents happy is a pretty common thing, so how exactly can you break that cycle without: 1.) losing your best friend, 2.) losing your new best friend, and 3.) figuring out what makes you happy. I could really relate to Bri, and it was also interesting to get a behind-the-scenes look at a Bat Mitzvah.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

An astounding account of a Somali refugee's life as a child in a Kenyan refugee camp. Ultimately hopeful, it is eye-opening, honest, and heartfelt. Omar's brother, Hassan, has disabilities, which adds yet another layer to this sweeping tale of humanity. I cannot recommend this memoir enough. 

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
On the Horizon Signed Edition Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358354765
Availability: On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
Published: Not Avail - April 7th, 2020

I love this stunning new work by living legend Lois Lowry. She presents a brief and focused look at two pivotal cities during WWII, and brings the concept of war into a personal focus.  This is a perfect companion to any of the novels that take place during this tumultuous time in our history, and the evocative black and white illustrations are by one of my favorite illustrators, Kenard Pak.

— Jamie