Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Suggestions — Young Adult

Staff Pick Badge
Kent State Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338356281
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 21st, 2020

This poignant, free verse novel reads like a spoken word poetry conversation, while bringing the reader to the emotional scene of the Kent State massacre on May 4, 1970. Please, all readers young and beyond, take a stand, be a part of what you believe in. Educational and heartfelt, this book shines a light on how important it is to remember history as we forge ahead, into the future.

— Tonya


Staff Pick Badge
Thank You for Coming to My TED Talk: A Teen Guide to Great Public Speaking Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328995070
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Public Speaking can be one of the most terrifying experiences. However, if you know some tricks and tips to mastering this trade, it can be a walk in the park. This book does a phenomenal job of laying out the things teens should do to persuade, engage, and inform an audience. Wish I had this when I was in school! A great graduation gift!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Betrothed Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062291639
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - May 5th, 2020

I LOVED The Selection by Kiera Cass so when I heard she was coming out with a new series, I audibly gasped. A girl destined to be with the king but she loves another—of course I loved this book. Hollis starts as this spoiled girl fawning over this high and mighty king. She soon starts to learn what true love actually looks like and how she deserves to be treated. A story straight out of a royal fantasy dream!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Boy in the Red Dress Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593113684
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - May 12th, 2020

LGBTQ themes are woven into this fun whodunit in a New Orleans speakeasy. I liked Millie's rough edges and the 1930's vibe. The mystery was well crafted and kept me guessing all the way through.

— Jamie


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Daughters of Ys Cover Image
By M. T. Anderson, Jo Rioux (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626728783
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: First Second - August 11th, 2020

Billowing with intrigue, dark secrets, and ancient legend, The Daughters of Ys commands your attention. A glorious folktale of two sisters and the monsters and seas that separate them. The stimulating illustrations could tell the story on its own, but the eloquence of the language and text takes this graphic novel to an entirely different level. Masterful work.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
A Breath Too Late Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250238795
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - April 28th, 2020

To say I loved this story is a bit of an understatement. A devastating and beautiful book narrated by Ellie, a seventeen-year-old girl who finds herself in an out-of-body experience parsing together what happened before and after she died by suicide.Ellie's memories are stitched back together to form a heart-wrenching story that begs its reader to hold on, to stay, to find hope even in their darkest times. It's a roller coaster of emotions I'd gladly ride again and again.   

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
What I Like About You Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534445772
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

What I Like About You is a love letter to YA fans and the online book community - a strong reminder of how important and valid online friendships can be. This is without a doubt one of my new favorite books. It's everything I love in a rom-com with a cast of characters I wish I could meet IRL, and a layered story that tackles grief, first love, building friendships, and finding your voice. I'm incredibly jealous of and in love with Halle's book blog where she pairs book reviews with cupcake recipes. Her double life and unconventional love triangle had me hooked from the start. Such a perfect debut!  

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
They Went Left Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316490573
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

Zofia’s struggle after WWII to find and rebuild her life with her brother Abek is a story of pain, confusion, love, and hope. All stories do not have happy endings, but what Zofia makes of the end is her hope for the future. Mature topics concerning the Holocaust and sexual relationships are included. Recommended for 16+.

— Andie

Had I known this novel was YA, I likely wouldn’t have chosen it. I’m happy I didn’t know. Unlike in other WWII historical fiction, in They Went Left Monica Hesse addresses the aftermath of the liberation from the concentration camps and how “broken”  people tried to piece together new lives. Eighteen year old Zofia Lederman promised her younger brother that she would find him and, although she is a weak shadow of her former self, she will stop at nothing to find him, even the truth. This sometimes painfully descriptive novel is both heartbreaking and full of hope and I couldn’t put it down.  Proof to me that Young Adult is not only for young adults!

— Laura B.


Staff Pick Badge
All the Pretty Things Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984897053
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - March 17th, 2020

Another thriller from Emily Arsenault that does not disappoint! Plenty of clues kept me trying to figure it all out before Ivy. Social issues at the heart of this story left me with plenty to think about long after the mystery was solved.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Most Likely Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316454834
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Poppy - March 10th, 2020

I could go on forever about how much I love this book. It's a fast paced, well-plotted story with a diverse cast of characters. Four best friends all determined to do big things with their futures, but only one will be Madam President. Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha have the type of enviable friendship I love to read about, bu their individual journeys all shine in equally relatable and empowering ways. If you're looking for an unputdownable YA contemporary, this one is for you. 

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626721654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 25th, 2020

Never in my life have I been so engrossed by a non-fiction title. This look back into the history of women’s reproductive rights has opened my eyes to the centuries long struggle of women around the world. Between scientific advancements, political growth, and societal pressure, the women in this book display enormous courage in the fight for the rights to their own bodies.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984896360
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - February 4th, 2020

You know how you have to do a Capstone project Senior Year? Well, Pip decides to investigate a 5 year old missing-presumed-dead cold case for hers, but someone wants to keep this case closed. Yup, this is a page-turning, “stayed up all night to finish it” kind of book, and sooo worth it! Enjoy! 

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

Fans of dystopian in general or The Hunger Games in particular…HERE IS YOUR NEXT READ!!! Scott Reintgen has created a heart-stopping, unique competition with three main characters—Imelda, Adrian and Pippa—each with different backgrounds, wants, and needs. This story is sure to hold your attention and have you racing to the end; and once there, you’ll be looking for that next installment with great anticipation.   

— Susan


Staff Pick Badge
Yes No Maybe So Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062937049
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

Change is messy, scary, and unpredictable. it's also inevitable, and, above all, worth it. So Jamie and Maya - two characters I love - fight through their insecurities instead to stand up for what they believe in. This book is relevant and humorous, with a fabulous cast of characters and a resounding message of hope. Remember: you're never too young to speak out and make a difference.

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Rogue Princess Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250303431
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Swoon Reads - January 21st, 2020

In this gender-swapped Cinderella inspired adventure, Delia and Aidan embark on a mission to save their planet from a long brewing rebel conspiracy. Part sci-fi and part romance, this novel combines some of my favorite things about YA into an action-packed, unique new story. I could not put this one down! It's already one of my favorites this year.

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Jackpot Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984829627
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

Tight witty dialogue creates impoverished senior Rico’s strong sweet character. Add in chapters told from the point of view of inanimate objects (e.g. a lottery ticket) and you’ve got an exciting new way to tell a story. Thoroughly engaging!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Burn After Writing Teen. New Edition Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781908211378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Carpet Bombing Culture - October 29th, 2019

This incredible interactive journal gives you question and prompts designed to make you reflect and project your thoughts on to the future. The best part is that there are no right or wrong answers, only thoughtful questions that you'll look back on and want to fill out again with updates!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Young Person's Guide to Conquering the World (Guided Journal): A Guided Journal by Teen Vogue Cover Image
By Teen Vogue, Joni Majer (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419733949
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 10th, 2019

Learn how to conquer the world with this journal filled with prompts about who you are now and all the amazing things you will do in the future!

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780525707967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 7th, 2020

I hesitated before reading this sequel, because I couldn’t imagine a book that could live up to One of Us Is Lying. This book quickly proved me wrong — One of Us is Next is just as compelling as its predecessor, with a stimulating plot line and even more authentic, distinct characters to meet. Another must-read from Karen McManus! 

— Nicole


Staff Pick Badge
I Know You Remember Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781595148544
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - October 8th, 2019

What happened to Zahra Gaines? Figuring out the answer becomes Ruthie's sole focus when she returns to her hometown eager to reconnect with her best friend. But Zahra is not the person she remembers -- she's disappeared entirely. With the help of Zahra's peers and her own memories, Ruthie tries to piece together what happened and find her friend before it's too late. Nothing is as it seems in this propulsive thriller perfect for fans of Sadie. I'm still thinking about the twist at the end of this one. 

— Becky