Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Suggestions — Young Adult

Staff Pick Badge
All the Pretty Things Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984897053
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - March 17th, 2020

Another thriller from Emily Arsenault that does not disappoint! Plenty of clues kept me trying to figure it all out before Ivy. Social issues at the heart of this story left me with plenty to think about long after the mystery was solved.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Most Likely Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316454834
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Poppy - March 10th, 2020

I could go on forever about how much I love this book. It's a fast paced, well-plotted story with a diverse cast of characters. Four best friends all determined to do big things with their futures, but only one will be Madam President. Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha have the type of enviable friendship I love to read about, bu their individual journeys all shine in equally relatable and empowering ways. If you're looking for an unputdownable YA contemporary, this one is for you. 

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626721654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 25th, 2020

Never in my life have I been so engrossed by a non-fiction title. This look back into the history of women’s reproductive rights has opened my eyes to the centuries long struggle of women around the world. Between scientific advancements, political growth, and societal pressure, the women in this book display enormous courage in the fight for the rights to their own bodies.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984896360
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - February 4th, 2020

You know how you have to do a Capstone project Senior Year? Well, Pip decides to investigate a 5 year old missing-presumed-dead cold case for hers, but someone wants to keep this case closed. Yup, this is a page-turning, “stayed up all night to finish it” kind of book, and sooo worth it! Enjoy! 

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

Fans of dystopian in general or The Hunger Games in particular…HERE IS YOUR NEXT READ!!! Scott Reintgen has created a heart-stopping, unique competition with three main characters—Imelda, Adrian and Pippa—each with different backgrounds, wants, and needs. This story is sure to hold your attention and have you racing to the end; and once there, you’ll be looking for that next installment with great anticipation.   

— Susan


Staff Pick Badge
Yes No Maybe So Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062937049
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

Change is messy, scary, and unpredictable. it's also inevitable, and, above all, worth it. So Jamie and Maya - two characters I love - fight through their insecurities instead to stand up for what they believe in. This book is relevant and humorous, with a fabulous cast of characters and a resounding message of hope. Remember: you're never too young to speak out and make a difference.

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Rogue Princess Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250303431
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Swoon Reads - January 21st, 2020

In this gender-swapped Cinderella inspired adventure, Delia and Aidan embark on a mission to save their planet from a long brewing rebel conspiracy. Part sci-fi and part romance, this novel combines some of my favorite things about YA into an action-packed, unique new story. I could not put this one down! It's already one of my favorites this year.

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Jackpot Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984829627
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

Tight witty dialogue creates impoverished senior Rico’s strong sweet character. Add in chapters told from the point of view of inanimate objects (e.g. a lottery ticket) and you’ve got an exciting new way to tell a story. Thoroughly engaging!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Burn After Writing Teen. New Edition Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781908211378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Carpet Bombing Culture - October 29th, 2019

This incredible interactive journal gives you question and prompts designed to make you reflect and project your thoughts on to the future. The best part is that there are no right or wrong answers, only thoughtful questions that you'll look back on and want to fill out again with updates!

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
Young Person's Guide to Conquering the World (Guided Journal): A Guided Journal by Teen Vogue Cover Image
By Teen Vogue, Joni Majer (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419733949
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 10th, 2019

Learn how to conquer the world with this journal filled with prompts about who you are now and all the amazing things you will do in the future!

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780525707967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 7th, 2020

I hesitated before reading this sequel, because I couldn’t imagine a book that could live up to One of Us Is Lying. This book quickly proved me wrong — One of Us is Next is just as compelling as its predecessor, with a stimulating plot line and even more authentic, distinct characters to meet. Another must-read from Karen McManus! 

— Nicole


Staff Pick Badge
I Know You Remember Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781595148544
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - October 8th, 2019

What happened to Zahra Gaines? Figuring out the answer becomes Ruthie's sole focus when she returns to her hometown eager to reconnect with her best friend. But Zahra is not the person she remembers -- she's disappeared entirely. With the help of Zahra's peers and her own memories, Ruthie tries to piece together what happened and find her friend before it's too late. Nothing is as it seems in this propulsive thriller perfect for fans of Sadie. I'm still thinking about the twist at the end of this one. 

— Becky


Staff Pick Badge
Where the World Ends Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250225498
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - December 3rd, 2019

Quill is the perfect role model for boys today, who mostly have Superheroes to look up to. He does the right thing inspite of the difficult consequences and triumphs in the end. This historical fiction novel is set off Scotland in 1727, and includes a map, information on the actual event, and data on the birds their lives depended on. A thrilling story of survival on many award lists this year!

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Starsight (Skyward #2) Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780399555824
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - November 26th, 2019

Oh, the unexpected surprises revealed in Starsight! Some gave me answers to mysteries from book 1. Others left me with new questions and now I really can’t wait for book 3. I want to know what will happen to Spensa, M-bot, and their world. Sanderson has written a tightly woven novel that pushed, pushed, pushed me to read until this story was done. Ah, now I can finally breathe! And yes, this sci-fi story is for both guys and girls and for fans of fantasy or dystopian.

— Susan


Staff Pick Badge
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525581673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - November 5th, 2019

As a girl who loved the TV show Merlin and anything and everything to do with Arthurian Legend, you can imagine how excited I was to read The Guinevere Deception. In this retelling of the classic legend, Guinevere is the main character - sent to protect Arthur. I was enthralled in the story from start to finish. With richly developed characters and a story line that is constantly shifting, fantasy fans will be clamoring for the next in the series.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness #1) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250211750
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 3rd, 2019

The first book in what I believe to be an epic fantasy series, There Will Come a Darkness is the next best YA fantasy. With five point-of-views from characters of different sexes, races, and orientations, it allows for a wide audience of fantasy fans to enjoy and devour. I lost myself in this gloriously brilliant debut. Fans of Six of Crows and An Ember in the Ashes will be in welcome and familiar company.

— Lindsay A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Fountains of Silence Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399160318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - October 1st, 2019

I love Ruta’s books! She is able to bring to light some pieces of history we may be unaware of, and link it to a story to engage us all at once.  Fountains of Silence is post WWII, yet it takes place in Spain where General Franciso Franco ruled---harshly---for many years. Enjoy!

— Lori


Staff Pick Badge
Baggage Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781550509700
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coteau Books - July 30th, 2019

This is the kind of book that makes you wonder what you would do. Finding Thabo changes each character, but who is Thabo really? A thrilling, inspiring story centered around a victim of child trafficking, that will have young teens thinking about how they can impact the world.

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
In the Hall with the Knife: A Clue Mystery, Book One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419738340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 8th, 2019

Set on a stormy night at a remote prep school, Peterfreund unleashes a colorful cast of suspects, each with their own secrets. I loved this engaging light mystery, bringing Clue to life. 

— Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

Family mental health and finding one’s true place in the world are big topics covered effortlessly by this debut author. A family mystery in Maine adds atmosphere and perspective as Violet finally finds what is important to her, including love.  

— Jamie